Christmas is coming/The goose is getting fat…

I had to google the lyrics to the rest of this song.  It was something my mom used to sing, and it was driving me crazy that I couldn’t remember….and now I can’t get it out of my head.

Anyway…the whirlwind approaches.  Hubby and I are taking a road trip to my sister’s house for Christmas.  It’s roughly a 14 hour drive over 2 days.  We end up spending more time in the car than with my family, but it’s a holiday I now refuse to miss.  We spent Christmas 2009 with Hubby’s family (who don’t even celebrate), instead of mine.  I didn’t know it at the time, but that was my mom’s last Christmas.  She passed away in April 2010.  One of my biggest regrets after she died was that I hadn’t spent that last holiday with her, so last Christmas was a big deal, and I made sure that we could travel to both my family and my husband’s while we both had some time off.

This year is a little different.  We’re still going to see my family together, but Hubby’s going to see his family on his own.  Part of the reason for this is that we’re trying to save money for IVF, and plane tickets to another continent are freakin’ expensive.  The other reason is that last year just wore me out, even without the jet-lag.  As much as I would love to see his family and go with him to get a second opinion with an expert on his particular diagnosis, it’s all just too much.  I’m crazy busy at work, and I just need some time to rest.  So my plan is to take advantage of my paid holiday time to do just that.

So what I have to look forward to over the next few days is spending two days in the car, getting to my sister’s, shopping for Christmas dinner, cooking Christmas dinner, opening presents, getting back in the car for another two days, getting home, doing laundry, and taking Hubby to the airport.  Whew.  Wears me out just thinking about it.

Merry Christmas, everybody.  And Happy Hanukkah, too.

Leave a Reply

