Why I love my husband

WARNING:  If you are diabetic or prone to tooth decay, read on at your own peril.  The following is way too sweet.  The author is not responsible for sugar-shock or cavities.

As I write this, Hubby is halfway around the world, visiting his family and getting a second opinion on his treatments from someone who has actually treated men with his condition before (what a concept).  So not only am I missing him, but I’m worrying that our current treatment plan is all wrong and we’re going to have to start all over.  Suck and double suck.  A couple of weeks ago, before he left, he told me, “My goal is to make you happy.”  Easier said than done these days, but most of the time, he does.  Here’s why:

  • We have our own language.  He’s not from around here, so, in addition to having an incredibly cute accent, he often says things that sound perfectly reasonable to him, but crack my shit up.  Example:  “That totally cracks me out.”  We use made-up words like a code.  No one else would understand half our conversations, and we like it that way.  Anyway, just the sound of his voice makes me smile.
  • He’s a big, fat nerd, just like me.
  • He thinks I’m beautiful and sexy.  And not just thinks it, he tells me so.
  • He loves me, even when I’m crabby.
  • We keep each other well-rounded.  He teaches me about sports.  I teach him how to chop an onion or change the tail light on our car.
  • He’s honest.  Brutally so sometimes.  But I never have to worry that he’s lying or hiding something from me.  I don’t think it’s possible.
  • He also has a tendency to blurt out every thought that pops into his head.  Every. single. one.  After a while, it can get kind of annoying, but considering I have a bad habit of editing every word out of my mouth about 15 times, it’s a refreshing change of pace.
  • He’s generally happy and optimistic.  Again, it can be annoying, but I have a tendency to be a little more pessimistic realistic, so he balances me out.
  • We can spend a lot of time together–I’m talking snowed in together, no escape–and not get sick of each other.
  • He supports me–like when I decided to quit my job with no back-up plan, and he just told me, “Do what makes you happy.”
  • He’s smart, funny, curious, persistent, quirky, and an all-around good guy.
  • Oh, yeah.  And he wants to have my babies.
Leave a Reply

