Hubby’s Home!

It’s been a loooong two weeks, but he arrived on Wednesday, safe and sound, with all his meds (no hassles with security or customs).  We’ll start the new protocol on Sunday.  He’s still jet-lagged, so he went to bed at 9:30.  Which means I have some time to catch up.

I haven’t wanted to let him out of my sight since he got back.  The night he got home, I followed him around like a little puppy dog while he unpacked.  It was kind of sad and pathetic.  I reluctantly did normal things, like get out of bed in the morning and go to work, but the last couple of nights, it really sank in just how much I had missed him.  It was so quiet around here without him!  Believe it or not, he’s the chatty one in this relationship.

Speaking of chatty, we talked again tonight about where we go from here.  We’ll have to do another SA in 3 months, since we’re just now starting the new dosages of his meds.  We talked about all the what-ifs, like how long would we wait to see if we might get enough sperm to try IUI, and would it really be worth it, considering the success rates (not good) compared to IVF.  Would we go out of the country for IVF, where it might be cheaper, even taking into account the extra cost of air fare, etc.?

I love/hate discussing every conceivable possibility and the choices we may or may not have to make.  The neurotic in me wants to thoroughly dissect every single potential problem and find solutions long before we need them.  But the rational me knows that all the planning in the world won’t prepare us for what actually happens along the way.  We’ll just have to deal with every outcome as it unfolds, good or bad.

Meanwhile, the waiting is killing me.  I give Hubby his injections (6 shots a week!), but there’s nothing else I can really do at this point.  I’ve been putting off getting all the testing I need to have done, just to make sure everything’s working the way it should, but now that we’re well on our way with Hubby’s treatments, I think it’s time for me to get checked out.  At least that’s something I can do.  I just hope there aren’t any issues with my lady parts because if we end up with two strikes against us, I don’t know if I’ll be able to keep my head from exploding.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to crawl into bed with my already-sleeping husband.

3 thoughts on “Hubby’s Home!

  1. Yay! I’m so glad your hubby is home!

    The longest my hubby & I have ever been apart is one week – he went on tour and I met up with him a week later. Let me just tell you, I completely lost it as soon as I dropped him off at the airport. I couldn’t sleep and the house was so quiet & sad. I was like a forlorn schoolgirl until I saw him again!

    So happy you have him back all healthy & sound!

Leave a Reply

