No news + Look-alikes

There’s nothing much to report on the baby-making front.  We started the new dosages and 3x/week injections on Sunday, and since then, Hubby’s been convinced that he’s having more hot flashes and less hair growth.  But it’s only been a couple of days.  We probably need to give it more time.  Turns out, I also need to give myself more time to learn how to open the old-school glass vials the new meds are packaged in.  I sliced my thumb open last night trying to pop the top off one of them.

Since there’s no news, I’m filling my time (and my blog) with more frivolous things, like my own self-image.  Not the “oh I’d really like to be a mother one day and until then I feel completely unfulfilled” self-image.  I’m talking purely superficial, physical, and vain.

Apparently I have the kind of face that is generic enough that I can look like just about anyone.  Okay, a specific type of just about anyone.  It started when I was in jr. high.  There was one boy who insisted on calling me “Kimmy Gibbler.”  If this was his way of flirting with me, he completely missed the mark, as I found her character highly annoying and not in any way cute.  In fact, I hated the comparison, and I’m not really sure where it came from, except that I may have had a very similar hairstyle.  Cut me some slack.  It was 1990.  Everybody had those bangs.

 

Then in college, I made the mistake of telling some of my friends that my older sister had told me I looked like Daryl Hannah.  Not the beautiful, sexy Daryl Hannah from Splash.  Oh, no.  She was very specific when she told me I looked like the awkward, pre-makeover Daryl Hannah from Steel Magnolias.  Thanks, sis.  But the nickname stuck with me through college.  And now it’s followed me here.

Ah, grad school.  I was in a program with a bunch of women, but all my good friends were guys.  With one of them in particular, I had a semi-flirty relationship.  At least I think he was flirting when he told me I looked like Helen Hunt.  I did not take this as a compliment.  I mean, I admit I have a high forehead, but I like to think of it as supermodel-high, not I-could-write-my-entire-graduate-thesis-on-the-thing-high.

 

If he had left it at that, I probably would have had to come up with an equally unflattering doppelgänger for him.  Fortunately, he redeemed himself when he later said I looked an awful lot like Leelee Sobieski.  I’ll take it.

 

Of course, Hubby vehemently disagrees with all of these comparisons (saying I’m prettier than any of them–untrue, but I love my husband!).  I disagree with most of them myself.  And I find it a little unfair that my sister, whose genes came from the same pool as mine, often gets favorably compared to Jennifer Aniston and Gisele.  Just another of the many differences between us.

So, any other unfortunate celebrity look-alikes out there?

8 thoughts on “No news + Look-alikes

  1. You put a smile on my face! Very cute post. The worst celebrity comparison I ever had was Roseanne Barr – WTF?!?! Seriously, I should have punched that guy. A lot of people say I look like Lydia Lunch, which I don’t take as a compliment — except that my husband thinks I’m sexy. I’ve gotten tons of comparisons to Elvira (which is understandable since I spent many years as a busty goth chick). No, really. 🙂

    • Um, yeah, you should have punched that guy! Busty goth chick, huh? I never could have pulled that off…although, have you seen Leelee Sobieski in My First Mister?

      Husbands are so great for boosting our self-esteem! 🙂

  2. I don’t even think I realized that was Daryl Hannah in Steel Magnolias! She looks so different.

    I’ve been told (by a select few) that I look like Jennifer Anniston but I can’t imagine that is right. I’ve never been told I look like anyone else. I guess I’m just not that kind of recognizable place.

    Thanks for the comment on my post. Always appreciated!

    • Ha! I have no idea whether it’s Kimmy or Kimmie, but the fact that blogging about my unfortunate pre-teen angst gets me added to your blogroll totally makes my day!

  3. Someone once told me that I looked like Juliette Lewis. I don’t think that’s a particularly flattering comparison to begin with, but it also had the unfortunate timing of being right when the movie “The Other Sister” was released, where she plays a mentally retarded person. Gee, thanks. I also once got Jennifer Garner which I thought was pretty kick ass, but he was really drunk. 🙂

    • I used to think Juliette Lewis was so cool! But, yeah, not a good comparison. Jennifer Garner, though, that’s definitely a compliment (you can just leave out the drunk part)!

Leave a Reply

