The Futility of Ovulation

I ovulated yesterday.  As I’ve said, I have never officially charted, but I know my body.  I know the signs.  My cycle is fairly predictable (24 days, give or take a day).  I realize this makes me pretty lucky, that among my fellow ALI bloggers, I’m something of an anomaly.  I might actually be fertile.

But it takes two to make a baby, and when you’re missing a key ingredient, the recipe falls flat every time.  Sex doesn’t matter.  Timing doesn’t matter.  Diet and exercise don’t matter.  Every cycle for the last 8+ years has ended the same way.  Each month, I feel like I’m literally flushing opportunity down the toilet.

Of course, I haven’t confirmed the status of my fertility.  I’ve always thought that it doesn’t really make much difference when we’re likely doing IVF/ICSI anyway.  I’ve assumed that because I get a regular period, I’m fine.  But I always tell Hubby not to assume anything, and I guess I shouldn’t either.  Sometime in the next two weeks I need to call my RE’s office and find out what tests I need to have done and when.

We’ll get new bloodwork and SA for Hubby mid-April.  There might not be any change, but if there is, I want to be ready.  I want to have confirmation that I’m fine and that we’re clear to proceed with IVF.  April’s not that far off.  I’d better get my ass in gear.

14 thoughts on “The Futility of Ovulation

  1. I had always thought I was fertile because I have always had a regular period, so it was somewhat of a shock to find out that I have PCOS and do not ovulate every month. Not to say that you’ll find out bad news, because you could be perfectly fine, a regular fertile myrtle, but it never hurts to make sure. Best case scenario, nothing at all to worry about on your end and then you can just relax…until April, that is. 🙂

  2. I ovulate every month and I’m still not pregnant. AND we have good sperm on our side. Hopefuly, you’ll be just ducky. In fact, I feel very certan you will be. 🙂

    I know how you feel about seeing that other women do not ovulate and feeling like you should feel lucky or something. Sometimes I feel almost guilty for ovulating, then I remember how pointless it has been in the past. 20 years of pointless periods!

    • I’ve been so worried about the sperm issue for the last 8 years, I’ve purposely not thought about any possible issues with me. Every once in a while it creeps in and I get all panicky. I guess it’s time to either put those fears to rest or start worrying for a reason.

  3. You are pretty lucky to ovulate predictably. Having PCOS, my cycles were all over the place – frequently 50 days long or longer! But ovulating isn’t the end of the game (obviously). As you know, I had egg quality issues that everyone thought I was too young to have. It wasn’t until IVF (since we ordered the Pre-Implantation Genetic Diagnosis) that anyone was aware my eggs were old. The only test they can do pre-IVF is a day 3 FSH level – which will give you important information about your reserves (but not quality!) Although, my doctor did prescribe 2,000 mg daily of Arganine for egg health. (1,000 mg 2x/day) You’re supposed to take them for at least 90 days prior to the retrieval. xoxo

    • It’s weird that we’ve been dealing with infertility for so long, and yet I feel so under-educated about all of the intricacies and potential failings of my own body. I hope I don’t have to worry about any of it, but I know from so many other people’s stories that so many things can go wrong. I’m glad I have so many resources for support 🙂

  4. My two cents: I am willing to bet that you are A-OK, but you’re right – it never hurts to make sure. Good for you for putting your fears to rest (at least as much as possible). Hang in there!

  5. I hope all your blood work comes back super normal! I would recommend getting it done asap…for some crazy reason my blood work kept coming back positive for shingles/chicken pox…without any symptoms. Luckily, it was months before we did any treatment because I had to get follow-up blood work until it went down to a “negative” level which took 3 months. I would think if you get it done soon you will have plenty of time to figure stuff out, but I’m betting it’s all normal!

    • Thanks, Audrey. I called my RE’s office, and they said to call back on my next CD1 so I can get all my bloodwork and other tests scheduled. I hope everything comes back okay.

  6. Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog! You’re right that our MFI isn’t nearly as complicated as yours. And I remember how out of control things felt when I thought our problem was only MFI. I can do everything I think is right on my side of things, but I can’t control what my hubby eats and is exposed too. It’s an entirely different set of challenges and shows a very strong relationship that you’re able to make it through!

Leave a Reply

