Thanks, Mel! + February poem

I just have to say a big thanks to Mel for reading this post and thinking enough of it to add it to her Blog Roundup.  And thanks to everyone who took the time to stop by and take a look around my humble, little blog.  Go check out the rest of her picks.

***Fair warning: I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, so the following is kind of dark.  If you’re also in a dark place, you’ll either love it or hate it.  And if you’re not in a dark place already, sorry if this bums you out.

∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞

Uninhabited Terrain

Even a dead volcano feeds the land,
cultivated soil producing a bountiful harvest.
I am dormant; the seeds of life
never sown, fields tilled but left unplanted.

From a distance, the curves of the horizon
give me away: my belly flat and hollow
as an underground cave; my breasts, perky
as they were at sixteen, reduced

to merely sexual objects, fulfilling
half their promise.  They are barren
mounds of flesh, enough to fill
my husband’s hands and greedy mouth,

though empty as my womb.  His suckling
is rewarded no nourishment.  I am a desert.
No fertile hills adorn the landscape
of my body, only dunes of sand.

4 thoughts on “Thanks, Mel! + February poem

  1. I am not in the darkest place right now, but I have been there often, and so this poem definitely resonates with me. As an infertile woman, you haven’t been completely stripped of your womanhood but feel….partially stripped. (for lack of a better word).

Leave a Reply

