This “meme” thingie…

…falls into the category of things I normally don’t do.  But since Lisa @ Hapa Hopes was nice enough to tag me in this little game, I thought I should give it a shot.  If I tag you and you don’t want to participate, no worries.  I’m typically not much of a participator myself.  Honestly, my feelings won’t be hurt.
 
Here are the rules: 
1 – Post the rules
2 – Post 12 things about yourself
3 – Answer the 12 questions from the person who tagged you.
4 – Create 12 new questions for the people you tag. 
5 – Tag 12 people and link them to your post.
6 – Let them know that you tagged them.
 
Apparently other people who are doing this are totally skipping Rules 3 & 4.  That’s fine with me, so I’ll just answer the 12 questions here. 
 
 
1. Who are your favorite bloggers?
Is it sad that I really only read infertility (or related) blogs?  I have a huge blogroll somewhere over there → 
 
2. What tip(s) would you give a beginning blogger?
Comment.  Visit other people’s blogs and comment.  And then they’ll visit you.  It’s a beautiful cycle.  Also, honesty is always the best policy, even if it isn’t pretty. 
 
3. What is your occupation and what is your favorite part of that occupation?
I’ve mentioned here before that I work with children and families.  What I may not have mentioned is that the children have or are at risk for developmental delays.  What I love about it is that I’m not in a classroom, like I used to be.  That, and it gives me a chance to take lots of mental notes (mostly of what not to do) before having kids of my own.
 
4. What do you like to do in your spare time?
I actually like cooking, but I don’t do it as often as I should.  Hubby and I are big movie watchers, and lately we’ve been watching a lot of foreign films.  I write, and I read (although lately most of it is on a screen instead of an actual book).
 
5. What are the top 5 sites you visit on the Internet?
Again, it’s very sad, but my own wordpress account is probably number one.  Then email, (stupid) facebook,  babycenter (not the baby part, just the fertility/TTC part), and online banking.  All very boring stuff.  Sorry.
 
6. What is your favorite vacation place and why?
Hubby loves a good roadtrip, which is fine with me because he usually drives, which leaves me free to control the radio, read, crochet, play silly car games, etc.  But I have to say, I absolutely love getting my passport stamped.  My list of countries is short, but so far includes Mexico, Turkey, and Israel.
 
7. What is your favorite subject to blog about? And how do you come up with ideas to blog about?
I find myself relating almost anything to infertility, so that it’s almost a game for me to find some totally random thing and somehow bring it back to our attempts at making a baby.  Like the Super Bowl.  Or movies.  Or the fact that once we have kids, I won’t ever really be able to be sick again.  Also, I like that I’ve finally started writing poetry on a somewhat consistent basis again.
 
8. Tell us one unique fact about yourself:
I have a scar in my eyebrow that I got from chasing a boy!
 
9. What is your favorite book(s) of all time and why?
I relate probably much more than I should to The Bell Jar.  Sylvia Plath’s depression totally speaks to me.  I may need help. 
 
10. What is your favorite food?
Pancakes.  And I don’t care what time of day it is!
 
11. What are your favorite movie(s) of all time and why?
Oh my goodness, this is hard.  Breakfast at Tiffany’s.  Anything starring Audrey Hepburn, really.  My First Mister.  Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.  White Christmas.  Batman Begins.  Serenity.  This list could be really long, so I’ll just stop there.

12. What will you do if you can’t have a baby?
We will have a baby, one way or another.

Okay, so this is the part where I have to tag people.  I don’t know who has gotten this and who hasn’t, so here goes:

1.  msfertility @ Are You Kidding Me?!
2.  Bleeding Tulip
3.  swankylady @ Cystic and Optimistic
4.  mrs. brightside
5.  Not-So-Fertile-Girl
6.  Play It All Night Long
7.  with just a little help
8.  scarednot2followhim
9.  Sarah & Abram @ still counting stars
10.  eighteenyears
11.  slowmamma
12.  Audrey @ Building a Family through DI

You’re up!

8 thoughts on “This “meme” thingie…

  1. Oo, I like these questionnaire thingies! Unfortunately, I do not have 12 online friends to tag (I’m working on that) . I enjoyed reading yours, though. Now reading all the comments have made me hungry for pancakes…make mine chocolate chip!

    • Well, I suppose you can just hang onto it until you have more people to share it with. As far as I know, there’s no time limit. I haven’t been doing this long enough to be best buds with anyone yet, either. I just had pancakes last night (because how could I not after all this discussion?), but now I want chocolate chip pancakes too!

  2. Thank you for tagging me. It will be my first meme ever and a good reason for me to get my butt back in gear and write a post. It’s funny, the meme thing reminds me a bit of how I feel about Valentine’s Day. I don’t place any importance on either and I’m not inclined to celebrate or start a meme, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not nice to receive a card or to be tagged.

Leave a Reply

