Time to make the donuts…

This whole 3x/week injection schedule has me feeling a bit like this guy:

I’m sure it’s no fun for Hubby either, but while the sting of the injection and all the physical changes are happening to him, I’m the one that has to prepare the injections, get the dosages right, change the needles (1 1/2 inch needles, by the way–these are intramuscular injections), find the right spot, worry about hitting a vein or hurting my poor Hubby, and clean up everything afterward.  And repeat for the second injection.  Three times every damn week.

And when I’m not giving the injections, I worry about whether or not they’re having the intended effect.

I shouldn’t complain.  Hubby’s the one who really gets the short end of the stick in this deal.  It could be worse–when he went through all this the first time, 16 years ago, he was getting at least one injection every day.  But he had a nurse to give it to him.  Someone who (presumably) knew what she was doing.  I was never even instructed on how to give the injections.  We had to look up videos on youtube.  (By the way, does anyone know the best way to dispose of the sharps boxes?  I have two full ones sitting on my kitchen table and haven’t yet looked up the proper way to get rid of them.  And yes, I realize in the time it took to write this, I could have googled it.)

When we started the hMG, I freaked out because we were in a hotel room in Kansas and when I read the instructions, they explicitly said “for subcutaneous injection only.”  Great.  We had no needles for sub-Q’s, and I didn’t want to run the risk of killing my husband right before Christmas (as if it would be okay at any other time), so I had to call the pharmacy, in a panic, just to be told that either way was fine, really.  Really?  Then why doesn’t it say that in the instructions?!

I hope IVF is coming soon.  At which point, I’ll be the one getting multiple injections daily.  But somehow that seems different because it has an end date.  What we’re doing now could potentially go on for up to 2 years.  Two years.  As of right now, we have no idea if it’s working at all.  I don’t even want to think about what happens at the end of those two years if we get nothing.  I don’t know if I’m willing to wait that long with no progress.  If in six months we still have nothing, I might be ready to just move on.  I’m already getting impatient.

Have I mentioned I shouldn’t complain?  All this is (hopefully) leading somewhere, right?

6 thoughts on “Time to make the donuts…

    • Thanks, jjiraffe! The thing about his injections is that we’ll probably continue doing them even after starting IVF to see if we can get his count high enough to freeze some. No idea how long that could take. I guess I have to play nurse for quite a while still.

    • Thanks for the advice! There’s a hospital right down the street from us. I’ve thought about just taking them over there and asking if they could take care of it for us.

  1. Wow, that does not sound easy. I gave myself injections in the stomach before but it was only for one week and I do NOT think I could administer them to someone else. I watched a youtube video before I started my injectibles, too! The nurse at my clinic was not helpful at ALL. Thank goodness someone was thoughtful enough to film the process. Also, just because this is hopefully leading somewhere does not mean you forfeit the right to complain! Needles are no fun! 🙂

    • I just feel so bad complaining when there are so many worse things we could be going through right now. But this is our reality. And yeah, it’s no fun. Thank goodness for youtube!

Leave a Reply

