Blackbird

First off, thanks to Mel for including this post in her most recent weekly roundup.  Again, I am so humbled and flattered by the attention it has received.  Oh, and this is my 50th post–kind of a milestone–so, yipee!

A while back, I received a holiday card from a friend I used to work with.  (I think she called it a New Year’s card because it arrived well after Christmas.)  She has kept me updated over the years, even though we haven’t worked together or seen each other on a regular basis.  I’ve always liked her and enjoyed talking to her, but we have very different views, especially when it comes to religion.  She attends one of those huge churches, and her card included a few quotes and a poem of religious sentiment (thankfully, no Bible verses, though).

I kind of liked the poem, bits and pieces of it, anyway.  One part, in particular, struck me, not so much from a religious perspective, but as a principle I’ve been meaning to live by, which is living in the present.  I spend so much of my time and energy worrying about the future, whether it’s Hubby’s treatments, his attempts to get his dream job, thinking a month (or three) ahead at work, or general daydreaming about where we’ll live, how many children we’ll have, what those children will look like, whether we’ll adopt…I could go on, but I won’t.

I keep saying I’m going to make more of an effort to live in and enjoy the present, but I never seem to manage it.  I’m renewing my efforts today, and here’s a little excerpt from the poem that has inspired me.

This moment is his, thy will hath said it,
The next is nothing till thou hast made it.
Thy bird has pain, but has no fear,
Which is the worst of any gear.
When cold and hunger and harm betide him,
He does not take them and stuff inside him

But next I see, in my endeavour,
Thy birds here do not live for ever;
That cold or hunger, sickness or age
Finishes their earthly stage;
The rooks drop in cold nights,
Leaving all their wrongs and rights;
Birds lie here and birds lie there
With their feathers all astare…
~Consider the Ravens – George MacDonald

I’m no bird, but I could just as easily drop at any moment.  Wouldn’t I rather spend those moments living, laughing, enjoying my time with Hubby, instead of fretting over things I can’t control?  Easier said than done, I know, but that just means I need to try a little harder.

How do I accomplish this?  Well, for starters, I step away from the computer and get out into the fresh air and sunshine with my husband.

10 thoughts on “Blackbird

  1. So hard to put into practice, but such an important thing to keep pushing ourselves towards. Try try try…

  2. That is a lovely poem. It reminds me of “Thirteen Ways of Looking at a Blackbird,” in sentiment if not in construction. I hope you are enjoying the fresh air and sunshine!

Leave a Reply

