My not-a-bucket list

Mo made a not-a-bucket list, which was fabulous, and then SRB at little chicken nugget decided we should all meme the crap out of it, which I am attempting to do here.  Basically, it’s a list of stuff you’d like to do or one day dream of doing, without the morbidity of thinking about how soon you’re going to die.

1.  Have 3, no 5 children.  The pencil test used to tell me I would have five children–girl, boy, girl, boy, girl.  I actually dated a guy in college who said he wanted five, so that made the number stick in my head even more.  And then there’s Hubby.  He once told me he’d like to have five girls.  A set of twins and a set of triplets, if possible.  Crazy man.  I don’t have to give birth to all these children, but I would like a houseful, let’s put it that way.  I grew up in a large family, and it just feels right to me.  Ideally, we would adopt, but because we are not the Jolie-Pitts, I kind of have my heart set on foster adoption.  I’m still trying to convince Hubby this is a good idea.

2.  Join the Peace Corps.  I’ve wanted to do this since high school.  When I was in college, I took a poetry class with a woman in her 60s who had just returned from the Peace Corps, so I figured I had plenty of time.  Maybe after our hypothetical kids have grown up and left the house, I’ll sign myself up and go dig wells in Africa.  (See #7.)

3.  Publish a book of poetry./Publish a novel.  This was a huge dream of mine for a long, long time.  Lately I’ve viewed my writing more as a cheap form of therapy than anything worth publishing, but I’m trying to get back into good, literary writing (as opposed to spewing my thoughts on the internet) on a somewhat regular basis.

4.  Sew my own clothes and/or my children’s clothes.  My mom was an amazing sewer of clothing (and other stuff).  She used to make us dresses and Halloween costumes and aprons and cute little hooded bath towels.  She sewed a whole crib set when my niece was born.  I would like to be able to sew a few simple things for myself.  And for my kids.  And someday down the road, maybe even my grandkids.

5.  Eat only organic foods.  Someday when I’m rich and/or live in a climate that is more conducive to growing things, I will buy or grow all organic food.  I will not only buy it, I will cook with it, make my own baby food, and somehow turn my black thumb green.

6.  Jump out of a plane.  With a parachute, of course.

7.  Go to Europe.  Set foot on (almost) every continent.  I’ve never been to South America, Africa, or Australia.  Or Antarctica.  I think I’d be okay with never doing that one.  Penguins are cool and all, but I’m not a huge fan of the cold.

I could continue to add to this list, but that would take weeks.  Let’s just call this good enough for now.

What’s on your not-a-bucket list?

14 thoughts on “My not-a-bucket list

  1. Lovely ideas! I will have to think about this for myself … the things that pop easily into my mind are find a job and have a baby (or a few … just not five!), but I’m sure there is more to my life than that. Oh, and like both you and Marwil, travel more. That one’s easy!

    • Finding a job is also high on my list, but it’s for Hubby, so I didn’t think I could really include it here. I hope you’re able to find something soon!

  2. I love your list. I’m with you on on #s 1, 2, 4, and 5. I have no desire to jump out of a plane though. And other people would appreciate if I stayed away from poetry 🙂 This is a wonderfully constructive distraction. I will get on it soon. Thanks for the idea!

  3. I want to read your novel before it gets published 🙂 I have recently found myself thinking it would be cool to be published, which is interesting because it wasn’t anything I thought much about until recently. I’m thinking more along the lines of an article though vs a book.
    I’ll jump out of the plane with you! With a parachute 🙂

    • I’ll let you read mine if I can read yours!

      Ooh, it’s a date! I’m going to need somebody to go with me, and I don’t think it’s going to be Hubby!

  4. Wow, skydiving! I would never do that in a million years, it scares the crap out of me. You are a braver woman than I. 🙂

    • Sometimes I like to do things that scare the crap out of me! You know, like this whole fertility treatment thing. And I know you do things that scare the crap out of you, too. That’s what makes us awesome! 🙂

  5. Good list! Oh, I totally concur with #1,2, 3, and 4. However, the mere thought of #6 makes me weak in the knees! No waaay, man. I would also love to be fluent in another language other than English, live by the ocean at some point, and own my own vintage boutique. Ah, dreams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

