I heart–no, I mean, hate–Mother’s Day

Updated at the bottom.

I really do.  I no longer have a mother.  I am not a mother myself.  This day is merely a reminder of what I do not have and what I so desperately want.

But I’d rather not dwell on that.  Because there are so many out there who–this year–have so much to be thankful for.  I can hardly wrap my brain around all the good news that’s been circulating the blogiverse lately.  It makes me want to celebrate, instead of wallow in my own misery, for once.

So, for sass, Audrey, unaffected, Ms Pollywog, with just a little help, Bleeding Tulip, Living Our Life In Cycles, mrs. brightside, Alissa, Belle, Her Royal Fabulousness, slowmamma, Mommy-in-Waiting, and Nisha T. : Happy Mother’s Day!  Enjoy it!

Of course, there are those of us for whom this particular day is merely a sad reminder of the grief, pain, and loss that has become our lives.  Cristy wrote a great post about how to survive this difficult day.

I’m going to try to be happy.  For one day, I want to focus on the positive.  And maybe next year, or the year after that, I’ll finally have a reason to be celebrated on Mother’s Day.  And that’s what I really want.

(UPDATED 5-12-12:  In my efforts to remember all the recent good news, I completely forgot one of the very first bloggers I connected with. *facepalm*  A huge shout-out to msfertility, who is approaching 18 weeks with her little medical miracle!  Happy Mother’s Day, dear!)

23 thoughts on “I heart–no, I mean, hate–Mother’s Day

  1. Sending good vibes your way – and thanks for the reminder that Mother’s Day doesn’t have to be totally depressing if we don’t let it. 🙂

    • Right back at cha! I was pretty miserable the last two Mother’s Days, so I have decided to try not to be this year. Easier said than done, but we’ll see how it goes. 🙂

    • I can’t imagine how difficult these holidays must be for you. I know you’ve already survived one mother’s day in the UK. Is the American version any easier? I would imagine you see a lot of it in the blogs. Either way, I hope you enjoy this weekend and keep yourself busy with all the other wonderful things happening in your life right now!

      • Yes it is easier but it’s a reminder through the blogs, and now I had to look it up. Just to find that the Swedish one is the last Sunday of May – meaning a third one coming up! For some reason I thought it was the same date as in U.S. Oh well, what can you do!

  2. You are not alone. I hope you survive this weekend with many distractions, some fun and a lot of love. I’ll be thinking of you, and hoping that your time comes very soon. Take care!

  3. I’m trying to stay positive as well and in doing so I have taken to wishing a Happy Mother’s Day to all my “Someday Mommies” out there, like us. Last year, one of my friends wrote Happy Mother’s Day on my wall, the only one to, and said, just because you don’t have a child right now, doesn’t mean that you aren’t a wonderful fur mommy and a great someday mommy. It made the day much easier on me to know that at least someone was thinking about me on a day dedicated to what I want so badly but can’t seem to find just yet. So even if you hate the day, know that someone is thinking about you on Sunday ❤

    • What a sweet message from your friend! That’s an amazing way to think about it. I will be a mom someday, and you will, too. And we’ll be great!

  4. Thanks! I know all too well how hard this day is. One day you will be a mom so keep thinking of that…it’s the only way I survive that day.

  5. Aw, thanks so much. I know how much this day can suck when you’re still on the other side. Holding out so much hope for you that next year, you’ll have the most wonderful reason to celebrate.

  6. You know I actually thought about you today? Funny how someone you’ve never met can cross your mind. I was feeling sorry for myself at work as people kept saying “Have a great mother’s day this weekend!!” to me, and I kept thinking “If only you knew..” But then I remembered I still have my mother, and that I should be grateful for that. I thought of you and realized how much worse its gotta be for you. 😦 I really, really hope that by this time next year we’ll be able to celebrate!

    • Aw, you’re so sweet to think of me. I love that blogging allows us to form friendships with people we otherwise wouldn’t even know existed. I hate that any of us has to be here, but I love the understanding, support, and sense of community we have created for ourselves.

      Call your mom and tell her how much you love and appreciate her! And hopefully by next year we’ll both have something to celebrate.

  7. At Passover we say “Next year in Jerusalem.” On Mother’s Day maybe we should say “Next year in the nursery.” It really is one of the toughest holidays to get through, and I really hope you get your chance in the coming year.

  8. Thank you for thinking of me, even now this holiday is so very very tricky emotionally. It’s so hard to watch others celebrate what you so desperately want for yourself. Even here. Wishing you peace this weekend, and that this is the last mother’s day where the celebration doesn’t come easy.

  9. I am sorry that Mother’s Day brings you sadness. It sounds like you were doing your best to be positive and honor others, but it REALLY stinks to be sad for yourself at the same time. Thank you for your shout out and here’s to happier days ahead for you! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

