Remodeling

I’ve been thinking about my space here.  I tend to get bored easily, and since I can’t paint my own house, and I’m tired of moving furniture, I think it’s time to do a little sprucing up around here.  Forgive the mess if you catch me in between themes or formats or photos on my header.

I fell in love with my original swirly theme the moment I saw it.  But the more I started reading blogs, the more I saw this same theme popping up in multiple places.  And I can’t have something just like someone else.  It’s not unique.  It’s not me.  And as someone once wrote in my high school yearbook, I am “the ultimate non-conformist chick (compliment).”  It’s not hard to stand out in a class of 30, but still….

My dream house would be a fixer-upper, nothing structural, just in need of a few cosmetic changes and some TLC.  Something I can make 100% my own.  It might take some time to convince Hubby, though.  He wants everything done, preferably new.  If something breaks, he’s on the phone, ready to pay someone to fix it.  I’m on the internet, looking up step-by-step instructions to fix it myself (or calling my dad to ask him how to do it).  He calls me the “handy-woman,” which I sort of love.

It’ll be a while before we have a house of our own, though.  At least until Hubby finds a job, and probably longer than that by the time we figure out good neighborhoods, and assuming we haven’t spent all our savings on IVF.

So, in the meantime, this space will be under construction.  Wallpaper’s coming down, new paint’s going up.  Maybe I’ll add arches to the doorway.  Or something like that.

If you see any changes you like (or don’t) let me know.

14 thoughts on “Remodeling

  1. I love the new look so far! And, I’m with you on finding a home. It will probably be years for us too, but when we do go looking, I know I’ll fall in love with one that needs a little work 🙂

  2. Enjoy yourself! Ive changes backgrounds once in 3 months already. And I need to do some updates, add a nav bar, and a few other things Ive been putting off.

    Cant wait to see what you choose!

  3. It’s looking really good! I’m with you on the whole “not having the same thing as everyone else”. That’s one of the reasons I buy vintage…everything. Wow, you guys sound so much like us! My dad was/is a former carpenter who built the house we grew up in, so I share your DIY mentality. My husband’s dad wouldn’t be capable of building a birdhouse. I think my husband is learning a bit from my dad though….hopefully. 🙂

    • Thanks. It sounds like you and I need to go shopping!

      My dad is Mr. Fix-it, too. He’s my go-to for all things hardware or car related. So far, Hubby has learned nothing from him, though!

Leave a Reply

