Holy Balls!

Hubby had a scheduled call with Dr. K today.  Then he called me.  But I missed it, so I had to call him back.

Me:  Hey, I saw you called me.  Did you talk to Dr. K?

Hubby:  Yes.  Are you sitting down?

Me:  Yes.  What’s the number?

Hubby:  Well, it’s definitely more.  Are you ready?  It’s…three hundred.  Thousand.

Me:  Wow.  Really?!

Hubby:  Even Dr. K was ecstatic.  He was amazed!

Three hundred thousand sperm.  Up from 19 two months before.  This is the total; concentration was 150,000/ml.  According to Hubby’s math, if his balls continue working at even 1/100th the pace they’ve been going, he should be up to 20 million/ml in two months.  I’m not sure it works that way, but it sounds pretty good.

So, of course, Hubby’s back on the super sperm train, wanting to try IUI and even gettin’ down the good ole fashioned way.  We’re still a long way from IUI–according to Dr. C, we need to have at least 10 million for that.  But to even consider it as an option is something we thought would never happen.  So we’re thrilled.

And I think Hubby’s sperm really might be super because his motility was 70%!  I tried to attribute this to the nastiest, stinkiest, most gag-inducing vitamins ever invented, that he–for good reason–wants to stop taking.  Hopefully I can convince him otherwise.

Today turned out to be a pretty good day.  Yesterday was alright, too.

Thank you, everyone, for your kind words of support and for being able to see both sides of an issue when I couldn’t.

We’re fine–really.  I can’t explain it.  It’s the same way with my sister.  We could have knock-down, drag-out fights and, once we both cooled down, everything went back to normal.  No resentment.  No hard feelings.  And that’s where Hubby and I are right now.  Only with the added bonus of getting really, really good news!

25 thoughts on “Holy Balls!

  1. I have my husband on an arsenal of vitamins and supplements, too….which do you have your hubs taking?
    Great luck – sounds like you’re on the right track, guys! What a long and difficult road this is – I just know there’s a light at the end of the tunnel 🙂

    • He’s taking ConceptionXR Motility Support Formula, but he’s also getting Pregnyl and Menopur injections 3x/week, which is the only reason he has sperm at all. But I definitely think the vitamins/antioxidants are contributing to the 70% motility. Best of luck you!

  2. I do believe that puts the balls in the normal range. AS IN NORMAL GETTING KNOCKED UP WITHOUT IVF!

    OMG I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am that things are going in a good direction, I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am for you! I am so fucking happy you have no idea! The chances of a normal pregnancy now are huge!!

    HUGE (think this in a donald trump voice)

    I could NOT be happier!!!!!

  3. Hooray for your husband’s balls! Seriously, GREAT news! That is so exciting!
    I was about to respond to your previous post but then I read this one and was happy to see things are on the up and up…in more than one way 😉

  4. *edit* To clarify, I meant sperm count going up! Not…other things! *facepalm* me & my gutter-mind….

  5. Great news!! And so amazing what can be done in this day and age. I truly hope some more great things are coming your way very soon (without the bill of IVF).

  6. Holy crap! I can’t believe I missed this amazing news!!! WOW! Congratulations to you both – I’m just thrilled. I think you may have been right to start trying on your own. Woo hoo!!!

  7. I just found your blog after you left a comment on my post. WOW! I remember when our sperm count started climbing like this. It really is the most awesome and amazing thing ever. Just so you know (in case you didn’t already from my blogs timeline) my hubby got his sperm count to 10million when IVF#4 finally worked for us, so keep going you can get to that magic number if you have the patience. And even without the magic number, it really does just take that one sperm and that one egg, so why not have some fun and try on your own. Good luck and I have added you to my reader so I can follow your awesome story to the same happy ending we have found.

    • Your blog gave me so much hope when I found it, even though we hadn’t even started treatments yet, because I knew we’d be headed down a similar path. I’m so happy that you two got your two little miracles, and I just hope we get results somewhere close to what you and your husband were able to get. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today, and I look forward to reading more about your twins and your life as a (finally!) mommy.

Leave a Reply

