[Insert clever/cliche title about getting out of town here]

Just as I was sitting down to write this, Everclear’s “Santa Monica” came on the radio.  I will be rocking out to this song with my sister, Zappa, in four days.  Live.  In concert.  Reliving our high school days.

Not that high school was that great, but it’s still fun to reminisce.

I am getting on a plane today without my husband.  For the better part of six days.

Six days isn’t that long–this past winter, Hubby went to his home country to visit his family for two weeks without me–but I think it’ll be a nice break for both of us.  Time for me to spend with my family.  Time for him to figure out our next best options–for a job, for fertility treatments, for the future.  I hope I’ll return to a husband with a plan.

Things have just been so stressful lately, here at home and at work, and I definitely need some time away from those things that are stressing me out.  (Including that we got the print-out of Hubby’s results yesterday–motility wasn’t 70%, it was only 30%.  Boo.)  I confessed to Hubby last night I’m just overwhelmed.  The more I think about these things, the more overwhelmed I get.

I’ll miss all of you, but while I’m gone, I’m going to do my best to stay away from computers.  I won’t be reading blogs or updating my own.  I’ll probably get very behind, and I’ll do my best to catch up with all of you when I get back.

I leave you with a link to a poem called “Twenty-One People Between My Legs (and Counting)” that really resonated with me.  You may have to register to read the whole thing (it’s free), but it’s totally worth it to get to the final lines.  We are not alone.

Happy 4th of July!  See you when I get back.

5 thoughts on “[Insert clever/cliche title about getting out of town here]

  1. I hope you have SO MUCH FUN!!! Are you going to get all grunge? Please get all grunge.

    And YAY FOR HUBBY AND THE BALL FACTOR!!!! That’s the best news I read all week! Yippee!!

  2. I hope you’re having a wonderful time! Personally, I think it’s great to spend days at a time away from the computer and blogs 🙂 Sending happy thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

