It’s not a solution, but it’s a start.

When I was taking a journal-writing course a few years back, one of the exercises the teacher had us do was a List of Lists. The goal was to write down a bunch of topics we could tackle in list form at a later date (or several later dates).  This was great because I love lists!  And guess what?  This post is going to be a whole list of lists!

List #1: Things I know about myself

• I’m not much of a self-motivator.  I need something external–a goal, a reward (or punishment), something tangible.  If I were four, I would love me a sticker chart!
• I love the satisfaction I get from crossing items off a to-do list.  I’ll even add things to a list retroactively, just so I can cross them off.
• As further proof that I need external motivation, I’ve been known to give myself half a check for starting something, even if I don’t quite finish it.
• The above items mean I’m a little more OCD and a little less fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants than I would like.  But–
• I am at times completely overwhelmed looking around my house (or my life) at all the little things that need to be done–that I could be/should be doing.  So I make a list, which makes the whole thing a little more manageable.

List #2: To-do

• yoga (5 min.)
• meditate (5 min.)
• laundry
• plan a meal
• make shopping list
• deposit mileage check
• get gas

List #3: Things I wish I could cross off a to-do list

• get Hubby a job
• clean and pack
• move
• start IVF
• get pregnant
• have a healthy baby

List #4: Things I might actually get done tonight

•laundry
•plan a meal??

List #5: Things that keep me from crossing items off my list

• blogging/commenting (duh)
•getting sucked into TV

As you can see, I’ve got a lot to do.  So I should get to it…right after I hit “publish”…and maybe read a few of your blogs…

20 thoughts on “It’s not a solution, but it’s a start.

  1. Your blog is so adorable! It’s rare that I read it on my computer (it’s always on my phone). Look what I’ve been missing this whole time!
    I appreciate your comments very much. You are a diligent commenter!
    Hope you managed to cross some items off your list.

  2. As much as I do love blogging/reading/commenting it is amazing how much of a time suck it can be!

    On a slightly more serious note: your husband finding is not something you can “do”, so I would say cross that off the “to do” list. You can encourage, support, even comb through the classifieds, but him getting a job is up to him and potential employers. I just know for me, because I take on other peoples stuff so easily, sometimes I have to take a step back and remind myself of what really is within my abilities and what is not.

    • Yeah, list #3 is more of a wish list–things I feel like I don’t have a whole lot of control over. But I wish I did. So instead, I have my very doable to-do lists.

  3. Is it any surprise that I love lists too? 🙂 Sometimes I find that if I have a big thing on my To Do list, breaking it into steps or smaller chunks helps me. I get to cross off those steps, one-by-one, and it feels like I’m actually making progress, even if it’s slow. I’m SO hoping you’ll get to make a dent in your lists (particularly List #3) very, very soon. ~ hugs ~

    • What? No way! I’m trying to do better this week, be more productive, which, if I can’t cross those items off list #3, at least keeps my mind off of it for a while.

    • I don’t like to think of myself “lazy”–but I like how you describe it as “low-energy.” By the time I get home from work, my energy is zapped, and housework just seems so overwhelming–let alone yoga or walking or anything that might benefit me physically–and possibly give me more energy. It’s a vicious cycle. But maybe my obsessive list making can break me out of it.

  4. I SO hear this one! I’m a huge list maker… and now all nerdy and enthusiastic about using different apps for my to-dos (current fave is called teauxdeaux). But I also agree with the others that it might be worth breaking down your list items a little 🙂

    And just to also say, I’ve definitely benefitted from your excellent commenting so I just wanted to say thank you for that!

  5. Ahh..I am such a list maker too. I also love to cross things off, but I usually don’t put things on a list that I know I won’t complete, which is totally cheating.

    Maybe you can make blogging and TV your rewards instead of procrastinations? Just reframe things a little.

  6. I love these lists! Sometimes you just need to know that at least ONE thing got crossed off, even if it was something small. Keep on listing (and crossing!).

Leave a Reply

