CD3, IUI#1: Frazzled!

Baseline ultrasound today.  It went well.  Sorta.  I have this paratubal cyst on the right side that’s been there forever, but apparently it’s grown since last time, so they sent me for bloodwork to have my estrogen and progesterone checked.  Estrogen was slightly elevated, but Dr. C gave me the okay to start Clomid today.  If I ever get my hands on it.  It seems to be the busiest day in the history of Walg.reens, so who knows how long it’ll be before I can take my first torture device dose (100 mg).

I also have to get my homocysteine levels re-checked, since this was the only thing that came up in my 14 13 11 vials of blood that was a little off.  I’m not surprised, given my mom’s history, but it doesn’t seem to be too big a deal.  If anything, I may have to take some baby aspirin.  At least, that’s what I thought was going on.  But then the nurse mentioned MTHFR over the phone this afternoon.  I don’t even know exactly what that is (motherfucker?), but when I did a quick consult with Dr. Google, it seems they’re related.  But now I don’t have a clue what kind of bloodwork I’m actually having re-done.  I just hope it doesn’t involve another dozen vials.

And then there’s the suggested 5 mg folic acid I’m supposed to take.  Except the only dosage you can buy over the counter is 400 mcg, which means I’d have to take more than 12 pills a day.  I asked the pharmacist about it, and she said prescription strength is 1 mg and that maybe I should double-check with my doc to make sure that’s what he wants me to take.  Which means I’d need a prescription to get it.  From my doctor, who, in his message, said he’s out of the office until Monday (or Tuesday?  I don’t remember now).

And there’s the whole issue of trying to figure out how long Hubby has to abstain before the day of the first IUI.  Given that we have no idea when I’m going to ovulate, this could be tricky.  I was also supposed to pick up OPKs at the stupid pharmacy, but they didn’t have the kind the clinic wants me to get.  Does it really make that much difference??

Add all of this to the fact that I’ve been running around like crazy today from home visits to clinic to lab, eating half a chicken burrito in the car, back to home visits, etc., and I’m definitely feeling a little off my game.  I’m sure we’ll figure it all out, but right now  I think I’m in need of a good dinner and a massage.  And to catch up on what all of you have been up the the last couple of days.

6 thoughts on “CD3, IUI#1: Frazzled!

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one that thinks MTHFR stands for motherfucker.
    My clinic says no less than two no more than 5 days of abstinence. Easier said than done.

  2. I always think the same thing when I see MTHFR! Sorry that you’re feeling so frazzled. You’re right — it will all work itself out, but I know it can be stressful trying to get it all in order. Hoping tomorrow can be a calmer day!

  3. MTHFR is a blood clotting issue, usually trated by baby aspirin. Your Folic Acid dose sounds crazy and well wrong so Id make sure thats correct. There is Folic acid in Fish Oil, Prenatals and you can oibviously buy it over the counter as well but Id get that dosage checked for accuracy.

    Welcome to the unending appointments and your new life without pants. :p

    • Thanks, Jeanette. I called the clinic to double-check. Dr. C wasn’t in the office, but the other doctor wrote it up, and I picked it up today. I realized last night that I’m not really sure what I’m taking it for, so I might not take it until Monday. Although in my googling, I did see that Amazon sells 5mg folic acid without a prescription (obviously), so it can’t be too bad for you, right? Right???

Leave a Reply

