September ICLW

If you’re visiting for the first time, welcome to my little corner of the blogiverse.

It’s been a while since I participated in ICLW (International Comment Leaving Week, or I Com Leav We, see red button at the bottom of the page).  Mostly because I felt like my blog was pretty boring, with no news to share, just a lot of me whining and complaining about being stuck in the limbo of my husband looking for a job and not making any (or enough) progress with fertility treatments.  And while I realize that ICLW is not all about me, signing up to participate is essentially inviting others into your space, which, for a long time, felt like inviting people over to watch home movies of grandpa napping on the couch.  Not a good time.

But.

Things have changed recently.  With what we thought was an impending move for a job starting in January, we hurried up to schedule an appointment with Dr. C.  Turns out the job was a bust, but at least we’ve made some progress with treatment and are currently in the midst of our first (and likely only) IUI cycle.  I’m taking Clomid for the first time, but I’ve already been all kinds of bitchy lately (just ask my poor husband), so that little pill shouldn’t make much difference.

How did we get here?  Hubby was diagnosed with hypogonadic hypogonadism as a teenager, a fact he shared with me early on in our relationship, and which we knew would mean heavy-duty fertility treatments to add to our family of two.  We waited and waited and waited….to begin treatments, almost a year ago to the day.  He went from zero sperm to 19 in April to 150,000/ml to 700,000/ml last month.  Still technically not enough for IUI, but our RE was willing to try it anyway, and my insurance covers half (which came as a pleasant surprise!).

Realistically, we have a 1-2% chance of this working, and then we’ll move on to IVF.  But it feels like dipping our toes into the kiddie pool before jumping into the deep end, and I think I needed this warm-up before moving ahead with the big, scary IVF.

So that’s where we are.  What’s going on with you?  I’m so looking forward to meeting all of you and discovering some cool, new blogs this week!

20 thoughts on “September ICLW

  1. My dear Daryl, even if I equated reading your blog to “watching home movies of grandpa napping on the couch,” which I certainly don’t, I would say that such movies could in fact provide immense viewing pleasure should the maker have a certain talent in his craft. And that you do have.

    I’m glad for your sake, though, that you have something new and exciting to write about – because that means you have something new and exciting in your life! Happy ICLW-ing as you move forward with this IUI.

  2. Your blog was anything but boring before the recent change of events, but I’m still celebrating with you that you get to give IUI a try. Even if it doesn’t work, it’s progress and probably good for your mental health as well. At least you don’t feel like you are standing still anymore! I’m still really hoping it works, though. In dealing with infertility, we fall onto the wrong side of statistics all the time…so why, I ask, can’t that 1-2% chance be yours?

  3. Hello from ICLW (#91)! Best of luck with your upcoming IUI. We have a friend who tried an IUI first to do just as you said “dip her toes in the water”…she now has a beautiful baby girl. Fingers are crossed that you become a part of the 1-2%!!

  4. darl (as my kiwi friends say, which sounds a bit like daryl) your blog was and is lovely – but regardless we’re all really thrilled for you to be getting started with the IUI this month… hoping for great miraculous news for you.

  5. Hello from ICLW! 🙂 SO happy that treatments are picking up for you. Sorry about your husbands swimmer count…but wow– what an increase from 0. I would LOVE for the IUI to work for you all and am sending all the positive vibes in the world to you. Best of luck!!

    ICLW #3

  6. Hello from ICLW!! Just wanted to wish you the best on your impending IUI..I agree with Heather….having any chance is a chance greater than none at all… 🙂

  7. Curious about the vitamin the dr prescriped. Do you think that was linked to the 700K jump? What a great sign!!! And, don’t think your blog is boring and unimportant, because it’s not 🙂 It’s nice to find a fellow ICLW (former) azoo’er!

    • No, unfortunately I don’t think the vitamins had anything to do with the jump–that was pure hCG + hMG. But the vitamins are ConceptionXR. They’re available online. And, like I said, they may have played a part in the improved motility, but we haven’t done another SA since he stopped taking them, so I don’t know if we’ll see a decline. I hope not.

  8. Hi. Here from ICLW. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier today.
    Congrats to your hubby for the much better numbers! Well done I would say. I also LOVE your comment “adding to the family of TWO” – that is exactly how we feel.

    FX that we both get lucky on our first IUI.

Leave a Reply

