CD9, IUI#1: What I Got

The universe is speaking to me today.

It started with a quote on a brochure for a vintage store near work.  Of course I wasn’t paying all that much attention at the time, and I didn’t memorize it or anything, but it was something like this John Rohn quote: “Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design for the present.”

That was at about 11 this morning.  Then, when I got lunch, the “Grannyism” under the cap of my tea read, “Bloom where you are planted.”

Okay, I get it.  Focus on happiness today.  Don’t pin all your hopes on some future that may never happen.  (In other words, find joy in the good things in your life right now because this might be all there is.)

But I guess that wasn’t the whole message.  Because I got in my car, and heard this song on the radio:

I effing love this song.  Especially: “Well, life’s too short/ so love the one you got/ ’cause you might get run over/ or you might get shot.”  Oh, and of course, “I can play the guitar like a mother fucking riot.”  But that last one is less relevant to today’s lesson.  Which was continuing.

So, while I’m rocking out to Sublime in my car, I see the letters [D]L[H] on the license plate in front of me (but, you know, with our real initials).  Hubby and I are big, fat nerds, and we play this game in the car where we try to use the letters on license plates to make a phrase or sentence.  (Xs and Js are the hardest.)  There’s one we see parked near our house frequently with the letters [D]A[H]: Daryl and Hubby.  Easy, right?  So when I see [D]L[H], the first sentence that pops into my mind is “Daryl Loves Hubby.”  Because I am cheesy like that.

Oh, but it gets even better.  On the drive home, during “mandatory Marley” on the radio, I see another license plate:

Y U H8N

Okay, Universe, I get it.  Really.

I’m not pregnant.  Hubby’s count sucks.  But we’ve got some pretty good stuff going on anyway.  Focus on the positive, right?

So, here’s what I got:

I used the first OPK this morning, per instructions, and there was a very faint second line.  If this cycle follows the same sequence as the last (and only other) time I used OPKs, I should have a darker line tomorrow (the nurse told me it doesn’t have to be as dark as the test line–half as dark is enough), so I can call to schedule Hubby’s morning visit as well as the IUI in the afternoon for Friday.  Which means our second IUI will be on Saturday, most likely in the morning.  Which means Hubby won’t have to perform twice that day.  Which, I think, is a big relief for him.

And I’m so happy about all of this right now.  The Clomid didn’t make me crazy.  I’ll call the clinic tomorrow.  We’ll do our first and only IUI.  Even with a 1-2% chance of it working, it’s the best shot we’ve had so far.  So that’s something.  My husband adores me.  He’s willing to masturbate into a cup three times in two days for our future child.  Things are going well.

Did I get it right, universe?  Are we done now?

16 thoughts on “CD9, IUI#1: What I Got

  1. Love how positive you are! My boss always says, “It’ll all be okay in the end. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.”

    Here’s to some amazing plastic cup love!

    Sublime is now stuck in my head. Thanks a lot. 🙂

    • You’re welcome!
      My husband is constantly repeating that quote, too! Drives me a little bit crazy. I am not nearly as practiced at being positive as he is!

  2. These are great news! FX that your line will be a lot darker tomorrow and that the timing will just work out perfectly! I love all of the quotes that you’ve posted! And I too had some interesting news from the universe today 🙂

  3. I’m not sure the Universe is ever really “done” until we kind of surrender to whatever message its trying to tell us.

    Yes, go for the positive. Your husbands sperm counts dont “suck” and you are finally unstuck. I’d say the Universe is just preparing for the future. You might get a miracle baby, or you might still have some road ahead, but you are moving forward and that my friend is probably all the Universe is trying to tell you. Keep looking at the road ahead, as long as there is road, bumpy or smooth, the Universe is never really done.

  4. Way to look on the bright side! Good for you for listening to the universe. There is always something to be thankful for and even if just a small piece of ourselves can hold onto that forever, then hopefully it will be enough to get us through the more difficult times. But fingers are crossed that you will have a lot more to be thankful for soon!

  5. We have to find love and inspiration where we can. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you! Ps. Long time reader (on my Google reader), not sure if I’ve commented recently though because I am LOVING the blog design! The balloons are so cool!

  6. Yay for all the goodness in this post. Love that first quote, working on that daily myself. Best of luck for both of you. My world, three times in two days for your hubby… no pressure there, eh!

  7. OMG! You had me laughing so hard with “My husband adores me. He’s willing to masturbate into a cup three times in two days for our future child.”! That’s totally how I felt! And, yes, he does 🙂

Leave a Reply

