CD14, IUI#1: Babies on the Ceiling

What a day.  I’m breaking it down for you, bullet-style:

∞ Thank you, everyone, for attempting to keep me sane during my latest bout of the crazies.  If all of this were just up to me and my silly husband, I probably wouldn’t have even made it this far without going bananas.  Your support is always and deeply appreciated.

∞ The IUI has been denied by my insurance because, and I quote, “artificial insemination or infertility treatment is only covered when a diagnosis of infertility has been established.”  Hello?  Have you seen my husbands sperm count?  I’m pretty sure we are the definition of infertility.  I spent an hour of my day on hold, filed an appeal, and we’ll just see what happens next.

∞ First of back-to-back IUIs went well.  Hubby’s post-wash count was 1.5 million/ml, but there was only half a ml, so 750,000 total.  Motility was 48%.  My cervix put up a fight, and Dr. C had to come in and insert the catheter himself, but it was fine.  I had one mature follicle on the right and a teeny one on the left.  Fun fact: apparently my clinic thinks it’s a great idea to put pictures of babies on the ceiling above the stirrups.  Happy thoughts, I guess?

∞ We go back tomorrow to do it all over again, except this time Hubby only has to choke the chicken once.  Ew.  Did I just write “choke the chicken”?  I’m running out of euphemisms for masturbation.

∞ I leave you with the song that has been stuck in my head ever since those silly baby pictures on the ceiling:

25 thoughts on “CD14, IUI#1: Babies on the Ceiling

  1. Fingers crossed for you!!! (The insurance people are always ridiculous. Hopefully, you have a cooperative doctor that can give you the requisite “diagnosis” without much hassle!)

    • Thanks! I wasn’t even expecting my insurance to cover it, but when I learned they do, it was even more irritating when they denied it for such a stupid reason. Hopefully it gets resolved, and we get half our money back.

  2. Grrr. I hate insurance companies. Either they don’t cover or they put up one hell of a fight to become covered.

    Sorry to hear that the IUI was somewhat painful. Boo. Hope round #2 of insemination goes well and fingers are crossed for very good news soon!!

    • Yup. I thought my insurance fell into the first category, but it turns out they’re in the second.

      It actually wasn’t too painful, it just took multiple attempts to get the catheter in there.

  3. Good luck with the insurance company. Hope they’ll cover it! Will be thinking of you tomorrow, and hoping for a BFP in a couple of weeks!

    • Thanks, Ria. We’ll see how long the appeal process takes. Today went well, but I’m still trying not to be too hopeful about our 1-2% chance.

    • Thanks you, Cassie. I’m trying to stay realistic about our chances, but the odds are more in our favor now than they ever have been before, so that’s something.

  4. Insurance is ridiculous. But I’m so glad it went well! The babies on the ceiling seem kind of weird, honestly. Do they offer another option? Like, there’s the “babies” ceiling and the “ice cream sundae” ceiling and the “awesome new pair of shoes” ceiling? 🙂 Sending positive thoughts your way!

    • Yeah, I thought the babies on the ceiling were pretty ridiculous. My husband pointed it out when we were in the room alone, and I just kept saying, “That’s really weird.” Thanks for the positive thoughts. I know our chances aren’t great, but you never know, right?

    • Thank you! When I get to talk to a person, they’re usually very nice. The lady I spoke to was totally on my side…unfortunately, she’s not the one who makes the decision.

  5. I just came across your blog. My husband was also apparently diagnosed with HH and underwent treatment long, long ago. But, he has never talked to me about it. He also never wanted to see an RE with me… so we never tried any RT. I have my fingers crossed for you and wish you the best.

  6. My fingers are crossed for a BFP. Good luck with your appeal with the insurance. Btw it’s Kim and this is the link to my new blog if you wanna update your reader. If you want the password for the password protected entries, just shoot me a message with your email address 🙂

  7. Hmm that’s either very smart or stupid depending on the ones having to stare at the ceiling. Could be a source of hope but also depressing. Anyway, fingers crossed!!

Leave a Reply

