Liebster Blog Award

I am so ridiculously behind.

I now have three Liebster Blog Award nominations, and I could not be more thrilled or humbled.  The three lovely ladies who nominated me are Kristin at Return to Go, marwil, and alloallo at The Question Now Becomes…

They have questions, and a lot of them, so here goes:

Kristin’s questions:

1. What is the last book you finished?

Well, it must have been Stoner, by John Williams, which I wrote about here and here.  Clearly, I spend a lot of time reading blogs (maybe less lately) and not so much reading books.  I’m currently creeping my way through Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.

2. If you were going to join the cast of any reality TV show, which would it be?

Ugh.  Do I have to?  It would have to be something based on talent.  Like, if I had any skill with fabric, scissors, and a sewing machine, I might join the cast of Project Runway.  But even the shows that supposedly feature and reward talent, they also, by design, bring the drama.  Which I can’t stand.

3. Would you prefer an old house that has been renovated or a brand-spanking new house?

Old house, no question.  But not even one that’s been renovated.  One that’s still raw, preferably last decorated in the 70’s, untouched by a renovator’s anything.  One that I can put my own fingerprint on.  Of course, this is where Hubby and I differ.  He’d rather have everything done.

4. What is the last movie you watched?

Hubby and I are currently in the middle of watching We Bought a Zoo, which, to be honest, I thought I’d hate, but so far it isn’t too cheesy.  Before that, we watched Stardust, with the uber-cutie from Boardwalk Empire, Claire Danes, and Michelle Pfeiffer.  I had never even heard of it before, but it was so, so good.

5. Do you live in a rural, urban, or suburban area and would you move to another given the choice?

I live in an urban area, but I grew up in rural Middle America, and I wouldn’t mind living in a rural area again.  I wish I had the money and the knowledge to raise horse.

6. Why did you breakup with the last BF/GF you dated before you met your current partner?

It went a little something like this: We’d been dating for quite. a. while, and I had finally gotten up the nerve to profess my love for him.  To which he replied, “I like you.  A lot.”  That was the beginning of the end.  And to be clear, I broke up with him.

7. Have you ever been in a protest?

No.  But I used to see the 99 percenters in front of the university near where we live, and I would cheer them on in my mind.  Probably doesn’t count, huh.

8. When was the last time you did something for the first time and what was it?

Uh…last Thanksgiving I roasted a duck for the first time.  I can’t think of anything monumental right now…

9. If someone rented a billboard for you, what would you put on it?

“Stop bitching and vote.”

10. What’s the best meal you have had so far in 2012?

Well, I had some pretty terrible meals when I was visiting my family, but they were awesome because my dad, sister, niece, and I were all together.  Too cheesy?

11. Where was your last vacation?

Real vacation?  Hmm.  We went to see Hubby’s family near DC over the summer, and a couple of weeks before that, I went to visit my family.  But a non-family-related vacation?  I honestly can’t remember.

marwil’s questions:

1. Where are you located?

Western United States.  That’s as specific as I’m going to get.

2. What would you do for a living if you had the choice? Does it match what you are doing at the moment?

What I would love to do for a living is raise children.  Which is kinda-sorta related to what I do now, except I spend my whole day with other people’s children.

3. Do you have any pets and who’s that? Picture please!

Yes.  Two cats, Audrey and Cat.

4. What is your dream vacation?

Oh, man.  I have to narrow it down?  There are so many places I want to go!  But probably the number one place I would love to visit is Prague.  Or Costa Rica.  Or India.  Crap, this is hard.

5. What is your favourite food?

Anything chocolate.

6. If you moved country, where would you want to live?

Probably the most realistic place would be Hubby’s home country, but anywhere he got a job would be fantastic, really.

7. Tell me something you haven’t shared on your blog before?

I am easily embarrassed and blush all the time.

8. What is your favourite movie?

Again, so hard to narrow it down.  My First Mister is fantastic.  I used to watch it over and over and bawl every single time.

9. When you have a few hours for yourself, what are you up to?

A whole lotta nothing, if I can get away with it.

10. Do you have any particular hobby/interest?

Writing, crocheting–and I actually do love cooking, even though I don’t do it nearly as often as I should.

11. What is your first memory?

I think I’ve actually shared it here before, and it’s not exactly a happy one.  Actually, I used to think I could remember even earlier than that, to when I was still crawling and playing with a toy Woodstock, but that may just be because I’ve seen the photographic evidence.

alloallo’s questions:

1. If you could live in any past decade, which one would you live in and why?
I’ve always fancied the roaring 20’s, but I’m not much of a party girl.  I could see myself being a flower child of the 60’s, too.
2. Please share a favourite recipe/food blog etc.
As I said, I don’t cook nearly as often as I should, but I’m making these for dinner tonight:
3. What’s the most ridiculous thing you’ve had to do since TTC?  (i.e. carried around your pee in your purse like me?)
I haven’t had to do anything too ridiculous yet, but Hubby had a heck of a time, running around from doctor’s office to doctor’s office, looking for anyone who would give him his injections when I was out of town.
4. What is one difference (if any) having a blog has made in your life?
Well, according to my husband, I’m much more of a screen-addict than I used to be.  But it has made a huge difference to me knowing that I’m not the only one who carries the weight of infertility around with her everywhere she goes.
Here’s the part where I’m supposed to pick 11 bloggers to pass this award to, but I’ve been so out of the loop, I’m not entirely sure who’s already received it.  So I’ll leave it to anyone who wants to participate (I realize this is kind of a cop-out), and if you’d like to answer any or all questions in the comments section, feel free.
1. Where do you fall in your family’s birth order (first, middle, youngest, only child), and do you fit the “profile” for that position?
2. If someone were to make a movie about your life, who would be cast in the starring role?
3. Who has more fun: blondes, redheads, or brunettes?
4. Tell me about your first crush.
5. When was the last time you were honestly surprised?  (In a good way or a bad way.)
6. If you had to choose between living in a place that’s always hot or a place that’s always cold, which would you choose?
7. What’s the first thing people notice about you?
8. If you could live 1000 years, would you?
9. What’s the best compliment you’ve ever received?
10. What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever eaten?
11. If you could change one thing about your partner, what would it be?
6 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

  1. 1. Oldest. Yes: totally fit the profile. Super responsible, perfectionist, Type A, etc.
    2. Hee, that’d be one boring movie. I hear that Naomi Watts looks like me sometimes. Also, the woman who played Donna on the West Wing.
    3. Other than experiments with wigs, I’ve only ever been a blonde. And I’m totally serious and not very light. Hmmm. I’m going to say redheads. Joan Holloway can rock a Congo line pretty hard…
    4. My first crush was a surfer who drove a forest green Vespa. He had some serious style and was very mysterious. He was hot and didn’t have the slightest idea who I was.
    5. I was surprised when my daughter used her school scissors to cut her hair into a bob like “Coco Chanel.” She’s 4!
    6. I’d prefer somewhere hot, although I like cozy days indoors when it’s cold.
    7. I have no idea!!
    8. If I was in good health and my family also was granted the same option, yeah. I would.
    9. When a Vogue photographer introduced me to Elite Modeling Agency in NY. I didn’t pursue it then, but the fact that he thought I was up to that I realized later was very unusual and a huge compliment.
    10. Nothing. He’s the enigma he is and I chose him for both the wonderful and sometimes challenging parts of his personality. All of his facets help me to be a better person.

  2. Cute cats, didn’t know you had them. I think this award has been around the block and back now. I would live somewhere hot but not live for 1000 years, I think.

    • Love it. Most people think Cat is a boy because of her coloring, but she has a white chin and the occasional black whisker, so she’s not solid orange. I love her tom-boy look, though!

Leave a Reply

