Election Day

This is the first general election in which my husband has been able to vote since becoming a naturalized citizen of the United States.

It’s kind of a big deal.

So big a deal, in fact, that he refused to participate in early voting because he wanted to do it on the day.  Election day.

Even the President voted early, but not us.

(By the way, I don’t get political on this blog, but given the shitty circumstances we all have in common, regarding our fertility, each and every one of us should be paying attention.  And that’s all I’m going to say about that.)

As it happens, I was able to take the afternoon off, so we can spend it standing in line to vote and running various other errands.

I hope one of those errands will be CD2 bloodwork.  I feel my period coming, but if it doesn’t start in earnest tonight, that will have to be pushed back another day.  Which will also push back the first day of BCPs.

In other holy-heck-we-are-getting-close-to-doing-this-IVF-thing-for-real! news, Hubby and I did look into financing a portion of the cost, but it turns out the best deal we could get didn’t come from a bank.  Hubby swallowed his pride and asked his 83-year-old uncle for the money.  He wouldn’t hear of it being a loan.  According to Hubby, he said, “The money is yours anyway.”

Hubby has a theory (which I hope, for obvious genetic reasons isn’t true) that his uncle suffers from the same condition (hypogonadism), but has left his undiagnosed and/or untreated.  He’s never been married, doesn’t have children, and according to Hubby, never showed much interest in either sex.

Hubby’s family doesn’t have much, but they are extraordinarily generous with what they do have.  When we visit, his dad never lets us pay for anything, and, although I’ll try, I doubt he’ll let us repay him for the recent shipment of Hubby’s fertility drugs.  Because he has no children of his own, anything his uncle has will be passed to Hubby and his brother when he dies (which I hope isn’t for a very long time).  So we’re trying to think of it as an advance on Hubby’s inheritance, rather than a loan he won’t allow us to pay back.

Other items are being slowly but surely crossed off our to-do list, so, after what feels like months of constant stress (which has really been only about a week), I feel like I can breathe again.  Not a bad way to start a new cycle.

.

P.S. If you haven’t already, GO VOTE!

22 thoughts on “Election Day

  1. What a wonderful gift. Everyone needs an uncle like that. 🙂 But so glad to hear things are coming together and moving along. That’s a GREAT way to kick off a new cycle!

  2. Id like to remind you how recently it was that you felt stuck. How far youve come and how bright things look. Take a moment to reflect on that, and try to let go of all the pain and stress youve held for so long. It wont help you at all when you begin IVF. You will give yourself a better chance if you look brightly and bravely at whats ahead. My friend who is an embryologist, the magical Molly, told me that when women hang on too tight, they hurt their chances. Im not trying to tell you what to do, but I know how hard its been for you and how much fear there is in the unknown, but I am saying give yourself some time, some grace, look through the clouds and see the sky, and in that you will find your dreams coming true.

    • Thank you, Jeanette. You’re right, it wasn’t that long ago that we were so stuck, and now things are moving really quickly! Our uncle’s generous gift has certainly made it a little easier for me to relax a bit, but I know we still have a long way to go. One day at a time, I guess.

  3. That is he most amazing gift ever. It’s not *just* money for IVF, it’s an opportunity to expand your family.

    Already got my vote on. I woke up eager to get to the polls. So exciting your husband can participate in such a monumental moment.

    • Yep, he was pretty excited to get to vote for president this time.

      I love Hubby’s family, and they clearly love us a great deal. I’m so grateful to his uncle.

  4. Pingback: Doctor, doctor « Eighteenyears's Blog

  5. Aww, that’s so great! What would we do without our IVF benefactors? My dad paid for everything – we would never have been able to afford it, otherwise. We all think it was the best investment he ever made! Keeping you both in my prayers! xoxo

    • Right now it’s about a 60/40 split between what we’re paying and what his uncle is giving us. We technically have the money, but didn’t want to blow our entire savings on one round of IVF. We’re so fortunate that his uncle had the money to give us. Otherwise, there isn’t really anyone else we could have asked. Hubby joked with me that all he wanted in return was for us to name the baby after him!

Leave a Reply

