A Wedding Story

cakeJust trying to keep myself occupied here.  It’s been a while, but I’ve already posted about how Hubby and I met and how he proposed.  I think it’s time for a little wedding story.

We had about a year to plan our wedding.  The engagement had taken me a little by surprise, so I hadn’t already meticulously planned out every detail of what I wanted our big day to be like.  We had some ideas–like that we wanted it to be unique, non-religious, and as intimate as possible without hurting anyone’s feelings.

I loved planning our wedding.  I loved every single detail and that so much of it turned out exactly as I had envisioned it.  The trend at the time was wedding dresses with colorful sashes or belts.  And I jumped on that bandwagon–sort of.  My wedding dress was actually a bridesmaid’s dress in ivory because I’m kinda cheap like that.  We also went cheap as inexpensive as we could on things like the cake (courtesy of my mom), the centerpieces (practically free, designed by our caterer at my request), and the veil (again, my mom totally rocked).  I printed and hand-colored each invitation.  My oldest sister served as photographer.  You get the idea.

IMG_0888_007

But I pride myself on the fact that nothing about our wedding looked cheap.  We had to scramble–with four months to go–to change locations.  Our original location was a historic hotel, which was sold and suddenly under construction two weeks after we signed the contract.  For a while, they assured us everything would be done in time.  Then we found out there wouldn’t be any A/C.  For a July wedding.  We ended up at a local museum, and it turned out to be a memorable and unique experience for our guests.  We had a view of the mountains.  We had free booze.  It was super classy.

The best part was we were surrounded by people who loved us.  Hubby’s family came from all over the world.  I wish I could say the same for mine, but all of my sisters were there, and that was special enough.

centerpiece

We did have some drama.  A couple of days before the wedding, Hubby’s dad had the first of what would come to be many “incidents,” likely a TIA or some kind of fainting spell, after which he had trouble recalling where he was or what he had been doing.  Hubby was with him at the time, and it was scary, but he refused to go to the hospital and after a few hours, seemed to be fine.

We had planned for him to walk down the aisle, just before my mom and the rest of the bridal party.  The music was ready, we were all ready, Hubby and his groomsmen were waiting up front with the minister, but I didn’t have clue where his dad was.  Given the events of the previous days, I panicked.  I sent scouts out to check the bathrooms, the parking lot, the other areas of the building.  No one could find him.

Finally, someone came to check on us, as it had been almost 20 minutes since the time I was supposed to head down the aisle.  “We can’t find [Hubby’s] dad,” I said, my voice trembling.  Thirty seconds later, he poked his head back in to say that my future father-in-law was seated with the rest of Hubby’s family in the front row.  And had been the whole time.

boogie

Phew.

We laughed about it later.  Hubby admitted he thought for a second that I had chickened out or was having hair/makeup/wardrobe issues.  Most of our guests had no clue what was going on.  And the rest of the evening’s events went off without a hitch.

I loved my wedding.  But it was one day.  And the days before and since then have been the ones that have mattered, the ones that have shaped our relationship and our marriage.  We knew long before the day we got married that growing our family would not be easy (or cheap!), but we committed to a life together anyway.  And I have not regretted a single day since.

12 thoughts on “A Wedding Story

  1. I love the description of your wedding. I too planned every little detail and had the time of my life with it. I was anti-brizilla running around with a silly grin on my face for the year we planned. Your photos are amazing and you are right- NOTHING looked home done. I’m so impressed with you my friend!

Leave a Reply

