Projects

I’ve been trying to keep busy since we don’t have a whole lot going on IVF-wise.  Having something to focus on helps get me through the nagging anxiety about where we’re supposed to be in this cycle.

I haven’t put up a tree in years because we’re usually not home for Christmas. We will be home this year, though, so today I finally put up the Christmas tree.   The tree we have is small because we have no extra floor space to set one up.  I put two strings of lights on it to make up for its diminutive size.

The cats are always super-interested in the tree.  It usually gets them in trouble.

We don’t have many ornaments, but my mom did give me a few before she passed away, including a few of the “crazy quilt” ones she made years ago.

I’ve also been busy this past week helping Hubby edit a book chapter he’s written.  This was a big deal for him, and, 16,000 words later, he’s finally done and has it sent off to the editors.  Unfortunately, he insists this kind of writing isn’t going to get him much closer to a job.

He keeps applying, though.  Which was getting to be frustrating with the printer that we had because the mechanism that was supposed to roll each sheet of paper through the printer wasn’t working properly.  Hubby had it looked at, and the repair man said it’d be better to just buy a new one.  So Hubby did.  And was suddenly concerned about dust creeping into the crevices of his new toy.  So I whipped up this thing with some fabric I already had lying around:

I’m no Belle, but I was pretty proud that it turned out okay, considering I didn’t have a pattern.  It’s not even close to perfect, though.  I’d like it to be a tad bit longer.  And three of the four corners are a puckered mess.  (One of them turned out perfect–completely by accident.)  Also, if I had put a little more thought into it, I probably could have found a solution for the cord.  Oh, well.  Hubby’s happy no little dust monsters are going to clog up the works of his newest investment.

I have another project I’m working on, too, but I can’t show you any pictures yet because Hubby’s here watching football.  We agreed on no presents for each other this year (and last year, and probably the year before that).  But I saw something in a thrift store that reminded me so much of the two of us I just had to get it.  I’m tweaking it some, which is the project part, and I hope it turns out the way I picture it in my head.

I’ve also been working on multiple blog posts.  Apparently, even though there’s not a lot going on cycle-wise, there’s still a whole lot going on in my head.

I hope everyone’s enjoying their weekend and getting into some semblance of the Christmas spirit.  It might snow here tonight (but probably not), which would help a whole lot in that department!

11 thoughts on “Projects

  1. Awe, your tree makes me happy. I keep wanting to set one up, but decided not to pull out our Christmas things this year. I am subjecting my husband to holiday music though…so not his thing 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your distractions! They’re essential to making it through all of this.

    • It makes me happy, too. I love that it’s the first thing I see when I walk into the house. My husband is Jewish, so he doesn’t care at all about my Christmas-y stuff, but he puts up with it.

  2. I think you did great! Rounded corners are HARD and working without a pattern is even more difficult. I can’t wait to see what else you make! Also, your tree is adorable. A little holiday spirit is good for the soul 🙂

    • Thanks, Belle. I’ll have to keep working on those corners! Working from patterns is so not my thing–I just make it up as I go. I definitely need more practice, but it’s not something I make a lot of time for. I love the stuff you’ve done, though. You’ve inspired me!

    • I’ve been staring at our little tree all evening. But I informed Hubby that if we ever have a house, I want a real tree that smells good and everything! We’ll see how long everything stays in one piece. So far, the cats have been curious but haven’t messed with it too much.

  3. I think it’s pretty awesome! Of course, this is coming from someone whose only sewing talent is basically putting a button back on, so this looks like a work of art to me. Yet my husband knits. Tell me that isn’t ass-backward.

  4. Glad to see that you are keeping busy. Nothing makes the angst of waiting better, but distractions are good! I love your tree and what a wonderful printer cover that is! I’m sew impressed. (bad joke I know, but hopefully it makes you crack a smile). Our kitties look so similar- orange tabbies are the best!

  5. I realize that this is only a small part of your post but I have to comment that I am really impressed by that printer cover. I couldn’t make something like that if I tried!

Leave a Reply

