Sinking In

I gave myself my first Follistim injection this morning.  Tonight I’ll mix the Menopur (which I’ve been doing for over a year, so I’m a total pro by now) and inject myself with that, too.  It’s starting to sink in.  We’re finally doing this!

Hubby keeps asking me questions: When do you add X medication? How many samples of sperm do I really have to give? When do I have to give you the trigger shot? When is the retrieval going to be? Etc., etc., etc.

It’s not unusual for Hubby to ask me a million questions on any given topic.  It’s a quality that, while I find it endearing, can become annoying rather quickly.  I often have to remind him that I’m not a dictionary, nor am I the internet.  Or, more recently, that there’s a calendar hanging on the fridge, which I have not yet memorized, that can answer most of these questions.

His newest obsession is how his high sperm DNA fragmentation is going to affect fertilization with ICSI.  He’s been asking Dr. Google, rather than me or Dr. C.  The nurse who did the original baseline ultrasound back in November explained to us that the egg is actually capable of repairing sperm DNA, given enough time, which is supposedly one of the benefits of doing ICSI.  So far, Hubby’s research hasn’t confirmed this, but I’d like to think that, if we can’t have super sperm, maybe we can at least have semi-super eggs.  DNA-repairing eggs.

But first we have to get enough of them to make retrieval possible.  That’s the part we have to work on now.  Day by day.  Injection by injection.

16 thoughts on “Sinking In

  1. Are you planning a 3 or 5 day transfer? I read somewhere that the egg does all the work in the first three days, then the sperm kicks in. So then the crappy sperm crap out the embryo. We had 8 grade 1 embies at day 3 , but only two made it to freeze at day 5 or 6… including the two we transferred :(. I’m more curious if you were told anything similar??

    • We’re actually doing a 5-day biopsy for PGS and hopefully a 6-day transfer. I’m worried we’re going to have a huge drop after day 3, but there’s not much we can do about it. Our clinic hasn’t told us anything specific about dna fragmentation/sperm/embryo development, other than the super egg theory, but I’ve read enough to know that what happens after day 3 is pretty crucial. Especially with our sperm issues. Which is why we’re planning to do the genetic screening.

  2. Sounds like I might be related to your husband! I am full of questions too, but lucky for my hubby I don’t bother asking him since I know he has no idea. I just Google obsessively. I think I get it from my mom. Having a conversation like her is like the Spanish Inquisition!

    • I think Hubby knows I’ve done my research, which is why he keeps asking me–and I keep encouraging him to do his own. The man scours the internet for weeks before buying a printer or a camera, but for something this huge, he’s just deferring to what our doc says. I guess there’s something to be said for trusting the professionals, but come on!

  3. Tell him that he has to give 78 sperm samples. On the one day. And just as he heads to the loo or to the pub, yell out that he urgently has to do the next injection for you. My husbgand does the same thing, asks me all the frickin’ questions, so I just make it up. Lately I’ve been telling him that they use a laser tractor beam to summon the eggs out of my follicles, and that afterwards I need two whole weeks in bed with many, many cups of tea brought to me but he’s not buying it…

  4. Just got back from traveling to see this post – awesome!! It’s funny…..for me it felt like there was this huge lead-up time and then once the shots started it all moved pretty fast. I hope you have the same experience now that it is all systems go! Thinking about you and believing you will have some good news in only a few short weeks!

    • Thank you! Yeah, it’s hard to believe I go in tomorrow to see how my little follicles are doing, and we’ll be doing the retrieval sometime next week (fingers crossed).

  5. He’ll get the hang of it eventually. J used to do the same dang thing and I would just point to the calendar. Then the other day I was complaining about some symptom and he started going on about why my low estrogen levels would cause it. He said he’d been reading about Lupron therapy. I about fell over! Until then, I think scaring the crap out of him sounds like fun.

    Go follies, go!

  6. It sounds like you’re doing great. Getting started with the injections is such a huge step! You are DOING THIS. And your husband? Yeah, he can look at the freaking calendar just as well as you can. Though I really like the suggestion above of just making stuff up….wish I had thought of that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

