One little, two little…

Ten little embryos!

Thank you all so much for your well-wishes and advice after my last post!  I will definitely up my fiber intake (as I’m prone to constipation anyway), but I did feel good enough to go to work today.  If all goes well, I’ll miss two days of work next week (as opposed to the alternative, which is either no transfer at all or a 3-day transfer this weekend because all our embryos are dying).  It’s much easier on my schedule and my stress level to cancel as few home visits as possible.

I feel mostly normal.  My boobs are super big and super sore, and my nipples are super sensitive.  The way they normally feel days before my period, not mid-cycle.  And this is without a single shot of progesterone.  (A side effect of the hCG trigger, perhaps?)  I was feeling very crampy right after retrieval, but my wonderful nurse Holly gave me a couple of ibuprofen before I left the clinic, and I took a couple of Tylenol at noon, and felt fine after that.  I took a nap yesterday afternoon, even though the anesthesia had long worn off.

My husband is amazing.  He took care of me when the combo anesthesia/Valium/Percocet made me so woozy I couldn’t walk by myself, and he came home from Trader Joe’s last night with a bouquet of mums “for the mum-to-be.”  Because he is adorable like that (and nearly 100% sure this will work).  He was so excited to hear the news that he called the clinic this morning to get the fertilization report, since I was at a home visit during the earliest time we could have called.

We only got 13 eggs at retrieval, despite the 21 follicles Hubby counted at my last ultrasound.  So I was a bit disappointed right off the bat.  Of those 13, 12 were mature, and 10 fertilized normally.  Hubby is ecstatic and optimistic, as usual.  I’m feeling okay about these numbers, but know we still have a long way to go.  For now, the plan is still to do a day 5 biopsy for genetic screening and day 6 transfer.  I’m trying to make myself believe this is what’s going to happen.  Of course, there are no guarantees.

I was directed to drink mostly Gatorade and watch out for signs of OHSS, but so far, I just have the same gas/bloating feeling I’ve been having for the last several days.  I was a little freaked out when I stepped on the scale this morning and had gained 3 pounds since yesterday morning, but they said it’s not a concern unless I gain more than 5 in one day.

So that’s where we are.  Me trying to be cautiously optimistic.  Hubby through the roof excited.  Sounds about right.

21 thoughts on “One little, two little…

  1. 13 is fantastic! I only got 7 and 2 were good enough for our transfer. Remember, you only need one. Your husband sounds like a sweetheart. Nice going today!

  2. Oh, to be a man… It’s cute how blissfully unaware they are. I think it helps us get through the craziness.

    10 is a great number! I’ve got a good feeling about this… Amazing things are going to happen!

  3. I’m sitting here beaming like a proud auntie: all puffed up and grinning with the news of 10 little embies swarming around. Perhaps we could even turn that into a song (to the tune of 10 little monkeys jumping on the bed). As long as it ends with one healthy baby crying in your arms, I’ll sing it until I’m blue in the face.

  4. TEN embryos! Huzzah! That’s fantastic! Are you getting daily updates from your clinic on how they’re doing? Isn’t it amazing to think about them just hanging out in the lab, growing and growing? I think I will just sit here and hold my breath till your transfer…don’t mind me… 🙂

  5. I’ve been sort of off the map for the last few weeks, but look at this! What great news!!! I am sending you lots of positive thoughts!

Leave a Reply

