And then there were…

Three!

Holy cow, you guys.  I can’t believe we have three blasts in the freezer.

After all my negativity, I was hoping for one, maybe two.  But obviously the mantra you all kept repeating to me–Quality, not quantity–was really true in this case.  So thank you for that.

Hubby made the call, and he said he didn’t/couldn’t get any information about the quality of these embryos, so we’ll see.  He just keeps saying, “Good things come in threes.”  (Nevermind that I’m pretty sure the saying is the opposite.)  We’re not doing genetic screening, and whenever the time comes, we’ll probably transfer all three at once and hope for the best.

Still counting down to Beta day, and the time seems to be crawling.  I haven’t decided yet whether or not I’ll break down and test before then.  The blood test is two days after our anniversary, and I certainly don’t want to ruin our special day with a negative pee stick.  I don’t have any in the house, so if I’m going to do it, I’ll need to plan ahead.  Thoughts?

Thank you all, again, for all your support and positive thoughts sent in my general direction.  I am so thankful to have so many hearts and minds rooting for me when I wasn’t able to do it myself.  Y’all rock.

19 thoughts on “And then there were…

  1. Since the blood test is two days after your anniversay, maybe test the day after your anniversary if you can’t/don’t want to wait for the beta. I wouldn’t want to test before or during an anniversary celebration either. It would just be too much for me. That’s my two cents! Fingers are crossed so tightly for you, friend!

  2. Woohoo!!! That’s fantastic news!!

    Regarding testing: my vote is to do what feels best to you at the time. I have POAS PTSD, so testing early has always been difficult. But if you’re driving yourself crazy from the wait, it’s something to consider.

    Rest up and hoping for more good news very soon!!!

  3. Good idea re: holding off on the test until after the anniversary celebrations. Do it the day before, or the morning of beta, if you like, just so you’re prepared. Or hold out, if you can. I never can, so I’m not one to give advice on that!

  4. YAY! This is the best news. So happy for you both.

    As for testing, my $.02, be PUPO for your anniversary. You’ve been through so much. Have that day. Test after. Crossing all my fingers and toes for you.

  5. I went through 3 IVf cycles and did not POAS for any of them. I waited for the beta results for all three. It was not easy but I was worried about false positives or false negatives. I would wait until the beta if you can.

  6. Look at you! Three!!! Made it to blast!!! That’s very impressive. I’m going to assume for you that your Day 3 embies that you transferred were also the best, and therefore have made it to blast by now also. That means FIVE freaking blasts!!! That’s beyond awesome. I am so excited and so glad to see a glimmer of hope from you, too.

    As for POAS, I am the worst person to ask. The latest I have ever held out was our first IVF. I managed to go until 6dp3dt. I got negatives for several days and was convinced it hadn’t worked. Since then, I’ve tested out the trigger each time, then began the obsessions until the two pink lines appeared. Except that one time they didn’t. Which also sucked. So, if you can avoid the mind-games that POAS almost certainly entails, then wait as long as you can. But if you pee early, I want to know about it! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Jo

  7. Yay! So happy to hear about your little frozen blasts! And as for testing, I’m not big into testing too early, but I also like to prepare myself and find out the news in private, not on the phone with someone I hardly know. So I vote for testing on beta day, before you go in for the blood test. But really? Do what feels right for you. Whatever will give you the most comfort and peace, that’s what you should go for. xo

  8. Yaaay! Fantastic news.
    I’m always on the side of peeing on things. But I’m crazy when it comes to this stuff. As in – more crazy than usual.

  9. Wohooo! so glad to hear this. And as for testing, do what you need to do day by day. But if you can, I agree with others on holding out until after your anniversary.

  10. My clinic doesn’t do betas (I’m jealous of everyone else who does, which is practically everyone), so I have always been told to wait the two weeks and then POAS. I never could wait the two weeks…except for the last cycle where I did finally get my BFP: I waited the full two weeks because I didn’t believe our last ditch cycle would work. It did. So, my thought is to wait. As difficult as it might be, wait. Or at least until after your anniversary. 🙂

  11. Two sets of triplets!! 😉

    For my FET, I waited an entire 14 days to test. I did my beta 15dp3dt and I POAS the night before. I just wanted to be in control of knowing the results and I knew they would be accurate at that point. Peeing early is crazy making. Enjoy the bliss of ignorance and enjoy your anniversary!

  12. Congratulations on three – the three in you and the three in the freezer! My fingers are crossed for some wonderful news very soon. As for testing, I think it’s best to wait, but then again, I’m an early-testing hypocrite.

Leave a Reply

