Shits and Giggles

Yes, this is a post about poop.  Well, partly.

I’ve never been exactly “regular.”  I’ll go days without pooping even without injecting myself full of hormones.  Constipation and I are not exactly friends, but we’re well acquainted.

The past week has been above and beyond my normal discomfort.  After days and days of struggling (thanks a lot, PIO), I must have finally found the right combination of stool softeners and prunes because today I had the first decent shit since the transfer last Saturday.  Hallelujah.

Thus endeth the poo talk.

***

Hubby and I have been laughing a lot the past few days.  First it was an uncharacteristically humorous episode of The Slap, focused around an elderly couple (specifically the husband) as their family deals with the repercussions of the title incident.  The man spends the episode lamenting the passing of his youth, repeating again and again, “I’ll never touch another breast.”  After a night of booze, fighting, and yes, boob-fondling, he wakes up next to his old wife, peeks under the sheet, and says, “God is a cocksucker.”  Her response?  “I’m glad he is because I’m not going near that thing.”

I die.

Then last night, Hubby comes home from his run and tells me he’d been listening to a podcast about mindfulness.  Keep in mind, Hubby is a scientist and a skeptic.  He takes nothing at face value and doubts claims of supernatural or even holistic mind-body phenomena.  So I ask him, “Oh yeah?  Did you learn anything?”

Without missing a beat, he responded, “I don’t know.  I wasn’t really paying attention.”

I laughed so hard tears started streaming down my face.

Admittedly, I had just finished watching an episode of Drunk History, which may have contributed to this particular case of the giggles.

I don’t know if, as this study claims (thanks for the reminder, Jo), all this whooping it up will have any effect on the outcome of this cycle, but it sure helps keep my mind off of it for a while, which is its own kind of blessing.

11 thoughts on “Shits and Giggles

  1. Glad to see that Hubby is keeping you entertained. 😉 Hoping that the time passes quickly and that good news is forthcoming!

  2. I absolutely LOVE Drunk History. Whoever came up with that concept is brilliant! I’m so glad to hear that you’re finding ways to pass this brutal two week wait. I’m right there with you (only I’m quelling my nerves with cupcakes, not funny entertainment). Tomorrow will be exactly one week since my IUI. I don’t have much hope for me, but for you? TONS! Speaking of which, those dreams you referenced in your last post? When I got pregnant a few months ago that was the first thing I noticed before my BFP. I’d wake up mad at Merp for something he did in the dream they were so real! Not trying to get your hopes up, of course, but just saying. 😉

  3. Advice: when you get your good news, take stool softener every day (of course confirm ok w/ your dr). I had problems before pg now they are extreme. 😦 I have to take stool softener and senna twice a day. And I still struggle. I can’t wait to take a regular poo again lol

  4. Oh! And laughing is great. I read somewhere when we did our Ivf how laughing helps your muscles and it creates an environment good for eggs to attach. I watched funny movies all the time during my 2ww and was sure to relax and have some good laughs. 🙂 GL!

Leave a Reply

