Happy Thoughts Thursday: Four Day Weekend!!!

*Pregnancy, pregnancy, pregnancy, pregnancy, blah, blah, blah.  You’ve been warned.*

I am so excited to have four straight days to relax and try to recover some energy this weekend.  When I originally proposed this idea to Hubby, he wanted to drive to a neighboring state to visit a national park, but after seeing how exhausted I’ve been the last two weekends, he rethought that notion and decided we should stick closer to home.  So instead, we’re going to make a totally geeked-out road trip on Saturday (we live in a very science-y state), and I’m going to spend the rest of the weekend on the couch.

I had ultrasound #4 this morning, and after last week’s freak-out about the heart rate, I was super nervous.  But everything went fine.  Baby looks good and has developed arm and leg buds.  The heart rate was much higher, which chilled me out almost completely.  I don’t know why, but in my head, today was a huge milestone, and we passed with flying colors.  I announced the big news to my work friends this afternoon, and I’ve decided to publicly give this little one a nickname (at least, for the purposes of this blog): Thumper.

I know it’s not terribly original, as far as nicknames go, but I have my reasons.  Hubby and I have always called each other by bunny-related terms of endearment–Bunny, Honey Bunny, Bunny Cakes, Baby Bunny–and I thought it was only natural that our little one should also have a bunny-inspired name.  Hubby only recently discovered the phrase “bun in the oven,” and has been using it as often as possible ever since.  He even commented last night that other people have a bun; we have a bunny.  Plus, with my concerns about the heart rate, Thumper seemed more than appropriate.  Hopefully, one of these days, when I have a little more energy, I’ll get around to giving Thumper her own tab for u/s pics and possibly belly shots.  We shall see.  (And, yes, I’m referring to her as “she” because Hubby reeeeaaallly wants a girl, and I can’t bear the idea of referring to our baby as “it.”)

This week has felt like a turning point.  At the end of yesterday’s anxiety-fraught therapy session, Dr. N encouraged me to make decisions based on love, rather than fear, and I realized I’ve been missing out on a lot so far during this pregnancy.  Moments that I should be soaking up, ruined by worry that it’s all going to fall apart.  After today’s glowing ultrasound, I feel much more ready to embrace the love, and direct it all toward little Thumper.  Bad shit can go down at any point during this pregnancy or this baby’s life, but if that’s all I focus on, I’m going to be miserable.  And I’m tired of being miserable.

It also helps that I’ve also been experiencing a new pregnancy symptom: what I can only describe as a “pulled muscle” just above my pubic bone.  I double-checked with Dr. C today, and he assured me this was totally normal.  In lieu of nausea, I’ll take what I can get.

Speaking of Dr. C, today’s appointment was yet more proof that he’s become waaayy too comfortable with me and Hubby.  He high-fived me yet again, and gave Hubby a hug, which he’s never done before.  After taking a few minutes to consider, I’m glad it wasn’t the other way around.  A pantsless hug would have been beyond awkward.  He also joked that his wife almost left him at a concert they went to last night.  Not only that, but after discussing how sexy this particular musician is–with encouragement from Nurse M–he went on to say that he almost left her.  That’s how sexy K.eith U.rban is, according to Dr. C.  I died.  And then I remembered he’d just finished sticking the trans-vag invader up my cooch two minutes before.  We have a weird relationship.

I have one more appointment with him, and then I’ll be “graduating” to Dr. S, the OB.  It’s going to be bittersweet.  He and his staff have come to mean quite a lot to us in the years we’ve been frequenting his office.  A part of me doesn’t know what I’ll do without that place.

*sniff, sniff*

Okay, enough with the sentimental stuff.  It’s time to get my couch potato on and hibernate as much as possible for the next four days.  I hope to emerge re-energized and ready to rock with this pregnancy and the rest of my life.  I hope you all have a fabulous weekend ahead, however long it is!

16 thoughts on “Happy Thoughts Thursday: Four Day Weekend!!!

  1. Thumper! So cute and I love it. I also love that you have a bunny in the oven and not abun. This is really happening Daryl! Wow. It’s beautiful and amazing and scary as hell. Oh and having just thrown up for the 4th time in 24 hours, I don’t give a rats ass about the old wives tales about nausea. It’s stupid and I hate it (even though I’m trying to be thankful since it’s my only real symptom). Pubic bone pain? Weiiiiird, but prob to be expected. Your body is just making room for Thumper to grow!

    • Boo. I’m sorry you’re to the point of actually throwing up. That sucks. I’m trying to embrace my other symptoms, even though they’re not quite as…er…visceral as nausea. They are there. Hang in there, lady. I hope this phase will be over for you soon!

  2. Your Dr. C tales have me in giggles. But I’m so excited for a glowing u/s report and I adore your little Thumper moniker. I think it’s perfectly fitting and I have no doubt that Thumper’s little heart is going to keep on thumping. I’m so happy for you!

    • Thank you!! Yep, he’s become a real character, which is funny because it wasn’t all that long ago Hubby was saying the other dr. in the practice was so much more personable than Dr. C. I guess we’ve been around long enough he’s warmed up some.

  3. Ah, how sweet. So he wants a girl, ha. Funny thing, my husband has this idea that girls are easier to raise for some reason. Time will tell. This is all very exciting, I’m really glad that you feel ready to embrace little Thumper. Wonderful. Enjoy your long weekend!

    • He wants a girl BAD. He says it’s because he always wanted a little sister when he was a kid, which I think is just adorable. Girls probably are a bit easier when they’re little, but once they become teenagers? Watch out!

  4. Thumper! Love it! And the whole high five thing continues to weird me out, but you’re right, a pants-less hug would have been horribly awkward.

    I’m glad you’ve reached the sick-of-being-stressed phase. I was so grateful to get there with my daughter. Now just relax, and enjoy the crazy ride!

    Have an awesome weekend!

  5. I’m glad you’re trying to feel more positively. One of my big regrets about my pregnancy is spending so long focusing on anxiety and fear rather than hope and love. Somebody told me at the time that that was one of her biggest regrets, too, about her own pregnancy. But it’s easier to want to change than to actually change. I hope you can. Hugs to you and Thumper.

Leave a Reply

