Happy Thanksgivukkah!

Tonight we will light the first Hanukkah candle.  (Technically, we should have done it when the sun went down, but, meh, we’re not that strict in this house.)  And tomorrow, the first full day of Hanukkah falls on Thanksgiving day for the first time in, like, ever.  And it won’t happen again for another 76,000 years.  Or something like that.

It’s too bad Thumper’s not here yet, or we could have dressed her in one of these.  Still, it feels like some kind of kismet that Hubby and I are here, at this particular point in our lives, with a big move and a baby on the way, during the intersection of holidays that won’t happen again for millenia.

We have so many things to be thankful for.

We’re both healthy, and so is Thumper.  I had my colposcopy yesterday, and even though Dr. P noted “mild to moderate dysplasia,” he didn’t seem concerned, and wasn’t about to do a biopsy or anything else that could jeopardize this pregnancy.  He even said that when I go back for my postpartum follow-up, there’s a chance it will have gone away on its own.

Thumper has continued to thrive and kick and grow as she should, since the very beginning.  I have no reason to believe this pregnancy will end with anything but the healthy baby we’ve been waiting for so long.

Hubby finally–FINALLY–has a job!  And not just any job.  One that will lead (hopefully) to a fruitful career that will allow him to support his family and me to stay home with Thumper (and any other children that might come along).  He never gave up on his dream of working in academia, and it paid off.

We’re about to start a great adventure.  For years, we’ve been daydreaming about where we would go and how we would live once Hubby’s job moved us away from here.  Not that here is so bad, but we’re ready for a change.  Montreal feels like just the kind of place to start.

I have not one, but two baby showers coming up.  I’m so grateful for the friends who want to celebrate this pregnancy with me and Hubby.  The higher-ups at work wouldn’t allow one at work, so my work friend J is throwing me a shower at her house next weekend.  And my supervisor is baking a cake.  Even if we don’t get a single useful item for Thumper, I feel so blessed.

Hubby and I both have kind, caring, supportive families.  His family is the reason we were able to pursue another shot at IVF.  His uncle, who doesn’t have children of his own, is so cute and concerned about our upcoming move.  He reminds Hubby to drive very carefully, and when Hubby insists that he’s driven in bad weather before, his uncle says, “Not with a pregnant wife in the car, you haven’t.”

My sister has begun to collect items for Thumper, which she plans to give us when we visit her at Christmas.  She is so excited for this baby, and my niece is thrilled that she’s a girl.  I wish we lived closer to them–and to Hubby’s family–but that’s just not possible.

I have this community to pick me up when I’m down.  And I’m so grateful for each and every one of you.

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgivukkah!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Hanukkah! And just think, when you’re in Canada next year you get to celebrate Thanksgiving twice…once in October with us, and then again in November with your famiily and Thumper!

Leave a Reply

