Movin’ & Groovin’

We have movers coming to our house in two weeks.  Two weeks.  And while I can now say we’ve officially begun packing (finally!), I’m still overwhelmed with all the stuff in my house.  Which now includes a multitude of flattened boxes.  I have no clue where we’re going to stack them as they start to fill up.

Hubby’s job in these last two weeks is to packpackpack.  Of course, he started off slacking, as he hasn’t packed a single thing today, though he claims he’s done lots of other things, moving-wise.  I don’t think looking for an apartment was on the list for today, either.  So if we do manage to get all our stuff to Canada, we may not have a place to put it.

I keep telling myself it’ll all get done.  Somehow.  And Hubby is annoyingly unconcerned, as always.

In non-stressful news, Thumper is more active than ever, and it’s super fun.  The other night, we were out running errands, and when we got in the car, this song was playing:

It’s by one of my all-time favorite bands, and Thumper was totally rockin’ out.  She’s definitely my kid.  The dance party continued almost all the way home.  Totally awesome.

She also loves it when I eat.  At my first-ever baby shower this weekend (which I will write about after my second-ever baby shower this Saturday), she went crazy for chocolate cake.  She loves clementines, too, which is one of Hubby’s favorite foods.  So we’re finding out all kinds of great things about her before she’s even born.

Although, I do have to say, it’s weird to pick up the tiny (and very girly) clothes I was recently given and think that there’s actually going to be a baby to put in them in a few months.  Still blows my mind.

9 thoughts on “Movin’ & Groovin’

  1. I am over the moon happy for you! Life changes to the perfect extreme! I wish we could meet in person before you go, but I know how busy you are! You always have another friend in New Mexico who understands and I can’t wait to continue following your journey! You give me so much hope! Many smiles and hugs to you, thumper & your hubby! I wish you all the luck in the world on your journeys! Xxxxxx

    • Thank you! I would actually love it if we could grab coffee (decaf, of course!) or something before I leave. I’m sure I’m going to need a break from packing! I’ll email you to see if we can arrange something.

      • I would absolutely love that! Definitely email me and we’ll make a date 🙂 I work for UNM so my work load is pretty much over for the semester. I work at UNMH on Sat & Sun this weekend from 1:30-3:30 but other than that I’m open any and all days til you venture on.

  2. Moving and Christmas all in one month…that sounds terribly stressful! But everything WILL get done. It will get done because it has to. And in the end, it will all be worth it. So excited to hear about your baby showers!

  3. My early grad school motto was always, “It all get done. It always does. It won’t be pleasant, but it’ll all get done.” And it does. It works. Every time. Good luck! It’ll be over in a few weeks!

    Mine love it when I eat, too. It can be anything, really, but they clearly prefer sweet food. Apparently sugar = joy, even in utero. They go nuts for sweet, juicy fruits.

  4. I love all those little ways in which these little beings make themselves known in all their individual personality so very early on. It’s amazing, isn’t it? Given the week we’ve had, it feels so nice to have the baby kicking in there, though so far, s/he only seems to really do it when there is any yelling…H offered to start an argument 🙂

    I can’t believe the move is finally upon you! I’m sure it’ll be tough, but it’ll all get done, and then you have that wonderful moment when you look around you and realize you’re home and it all kinda falls into place. Happy trails!

  5. OMG! I haven’t listened to Live in ages!! And I love love love that song. Must go listen to it. 🙂

    Stress of moving..don’t miss it one bit! Sending packing thoughts your way.

Leave a Reply

