Lucky #7?

Today marks 7 weeks until my due date.  7 weeks!??

It’s also 7 days until we move (that’s counting today–the movers will be here on the 18th).

Holy major life changes, Batman!

We’re steadily crossing things off the to-do list, but man, it’s a lot.

Thumper
I had a prenatal appointment today (I was supposed to go last week, but a freakish snow-related incident froze the latch on my car door open, so I couldn’t get it to stay shut, and I couldn’t very well drive to my appointment with the car door hanging open, now could I?), during which my midwife checked my cervix.  I had explained at my last appointment that I was nervous about going into labor in the car on the way to Canada, but she said the ol’ cervix is “closed, long, and thick,” so I feel a little better about being trapped in a car for hours at a time.  She also printed out my record and instructed me to get to a clinic as soon after arriving in Montreal as possible to get my group B strep test, which is supposed to happen at 35 weeks.

Thumper is doing well.  She’s head-down (has been for a while, I think, but it was confirmed today), moving like crazy, and has a strong, steady heartbeat, as always.  Her movements have gotten cuh-razy, and my belly takes on all kinds of weird new shapes.  It’s kind of awesome.

Other Pregnancy Stuff
I was finally approved for Medicaid, but when I got the letter, a) they spelled my name wrong, and b) the start date was a full 2 months later than what I had requested.  This is after waiting more than twice as long as what I was told for approval.  Of course, no one answers the phone when I call, and at this point, I don’t have time to spend my whole day sitting in the Medicaid office waiting for someone to address these issues.  I’ve almost resigned myself to the fact that I’m just going to have to pay a big chunk of the bills I have stacked up, a big chunk of which goes to our fertility clinic for all those early ultrasounds I had.  It was worth it to me at the time for some much-needed reassurance.

The Move
Packing is progressing.  Hubby thinks we’re keeping up a good pace, but I’m still overwhelmed with all the stuff, even though we have been purging as well.  We’ve also arranged to cancel phone, utilities, cable, etc.  We’re in the process of cancelling our current bank accounts and transferring the money to our Canadian bank.  We have a whole binder full of documents we’ll need at the border and beyond.

Still don’t have an apartment lined up.  Hubby wants us to reconsider the too-expensive place in the great neighborhood, citing that the rent includes utilities, so it’s really not that bad.  But I am, as always, super stressed about money as it is, and I’d rather find something more affordable, even if it means being further from some of the amenities of the other place.  It’s an ongoing debate.

Our landlady’s also being kind of a dick about our deposit, which is not helping my money woes.  Overall, I know it’s not going to break us, but it’s the principle of the matter.  Without going into details, let’s just say she’s always been a cheapskate, and I knew this issue wouldn’t be any different.

Overall, though I’m still in shock that any of this is actually happening–let alone all at once–things are going more smoothly than I would have anticipated.  Which is nice for a change.  I probably won’t have a whole lot of time to blog before or during the move, but I’ll try to update as best I can.  Thanks, everyone, for hanging in there with me during this crazy uncertain time.  I can’t wait to start writing about adjusting to our new life in a brand new city!

12 thoughts on “Lucky #7?

  1. Good Luck Daryl! Here’s to an exciting, but peaceful move to the next chapter of your life! Canadians are awesome and I too can’t wait to hear all about your adventures as a new mom in a new city.

  2. Good luck! Don’t worry about the blog; we’ll all still be here! If you can just throw in an occasional “We’re still moving & everything’s still fine,” one-liner, we’d appreciate it. Hope all the moving stuff goes smoothly!

  3. Yay it’s all finally coming together. Good luck for the move. I look forward to hearing about the new apartment (once you’ve found one) and I hope Thumper stays put long enough for you to feel happily nested before she makes her arrival x

  4. Moving may a bit of a roller-coaster, but from my perspective at the other end of the ride, its worth it in the end. I also suggest, in a new place, with a new baby and needing to make new friends, routines etc, accessible amenities are probably more important than in other circumstances. Wishing you all the best with the move and don’t let the stuff overwhelm you. Its just stuff. Hugs.

  5. If you don’t mind a little advice on the drive (I’m sure you probably know this) but my doc told me to stop and walk around every hour. It prevents blood clots I believe. Best of luck!

  6. Wow Daryl, I didnt even know you were pregnant. Congratulations. And congrats on the move and that things are working out for you the way I always knew they would.

Leave a Reply

