One Month

That’s how long Hubby and I have to prepare for Thumper’s arrival.  Assuming she waits until her due date.  (And, please, little Thumper, a week or two late is just fine, too.)

With all the commotion of moving, I haven’t been thinking much about the next few weeks.  We still have a lot to do for ourselves, but I need to refocus my attention now.

I’m not 100% sure how my prenatal appointments here are going to work, or what I might need to bring with me to the first one.  I’ll most likely be showing up at a walk-in clinic early this week (I’m hoping to call tomorrow and speak with someone–in English–about how to proceed), but our temporary, private insurance covers none of it.  I don’t think it’s a problem, as all Canadian provinces seem to cover pregnancy in the last 9 weeks regardless, but it’s still a bit nerve wracking until I know for sure.

In addition to prenatal appointments, our pre-baby to-do list isn’t getting any shorter!  Once I figure out at which hospital I’ll be delivering, we’ll need to take a tour and ask all our questions.  We still don’t have a place for baby to sleep when she arrives, so that needs to be addressed STAT.  Thankfully, I was given some newborn and 0-3 month clothing, but we still need some basics, like onesies.  There’s still the question of whether or not I’ll be able to manage cloth diapering (we haven’t done laundry in the building yet, so that will be the true test).  I do have a few newborn disposables someone gave me, but either way, I’ll need more diapers.

That should take care of her basic needs for the first few weeks–sleep, clothes, diapering, and my boobs.  But that’s a-whole-nother issue.  I don’t know yet whether I’ll have access to a lactation consultant before or shortly after birth.  And I don’t know how easily Thumper and I will figure out the whole breastfeeding thing.

Just like it’s slowly sinking in that Hubby and I now live in Montreal, it’s taken a bit to come to the realization that in about 4.5 weeks, we’ll be adding a whole new person to our family.  One that is totally dependent on the two of us for all her needs.

Crazy.  And amazing.  And I can’t wait.  But part of me wants to slow time way down so that we can fully prepare ourselves–and our new home–for Thumper’s arrival.  Does anyone know how to do that?

8 thoughts on “One Month

  1. I’m sure everything will work out perfectly! Lactation consultants are great but I found hubby to be the most important thing to help keep me going and make sure things were working with breastfeeding. I also found an area breastfeeding group on Facebook that was an invaluable resource for me. Reach out if you need it. I am hoping to certify as a postpartum doula And have informally helped several friends through email and phone with breastfeeding, I have been told it helps immensely just to know the support is there.

    I wouldn’t stress about sleeping arrangement. It is not for everyone but if you don’t have a place for baby make sure your bed is safe(not too soft, no blanket for baby and only light blankets if any for you. No excess pillows. Etc. There are many places that have safe bed sharing guidelines) and that is an easy (cheap) place for baby to sleep if you are comfortable with it. We personally find bedsharing to be great and its the only way I get any sleep.

    Things will come together and work out!

  2. Yes, there’s certainly a lot to think about. But I want to assure you that one why or another everything will fall into place.

    When the Beats arrived, we have nothing prepared (and I mean nothing). During the time we were in the NICU and while Grey was juggling work (it was then that the paper he had been working on for a whole year was accepted pending edits and needed immediate attention), Grey literally rearranged our living situation, assembled what became the nursery/sleeping area, bought/coordinated reception of all materials needed for 2 newborns and baby-proofed the house. All while I was at the NICU. And even that was a rough beginning with a lot more transition. My point is do what you can, but remember to not stress yourself too much. I have faith all will be well, just take good care of yourself.

    Finally, I agree with Sarah about lactation. Grey was far more helpful than most of the consultants we saw. He still is a valuable resource an I credit him with getting us where we are today with breastfeeding.

  3. I know it’s coming up fast, but at the end of the day all a baby really needs is food, shelter, and the love of her parents. I know that’s oversimplifying a lot, but just to say that you have the basics taken care of, the rest will fall into place. I wish I had more solid advice to offer, but instead you get non-specific cheerleading!

  4. We JUST bought and assembled our crib last week at 36 weeks. And I’m still placing Amazon orders almost daily as I realize the little things I keep forgetting. I just keep reminding myself that my sister slept in a laundry basket her first few weeks and she’s no worse for the wear! Our babies will be fine, and I’m sure you’ll accomplish more than you think in the coming weeks!

  5. Babies don’t need much, so I certainly wouldn’t worry about not having everything in order. I certainly didn’t, and I just kept reminding myself of all those women who adopt, and only get a call a day or two prior to picking up their baby. They get by, and so will you.

    You should have access to a lactation consultant in hospital. Most hospitals here, particularly in big cities, have them on staff full-time. And you will likely get a big package of info about all the community resources available to you- use those resources! The early days are tough, and will likely be really challenging for you, being in a new city with no family and friends around. So much excitement, it must be really overwhelming!

  6. Don’t forget a car seat! You really don’t need much outside of diapers, wipes, a place to sleep and some swaddles the first couple weeks. You can get all the other stuff as you need it.
    I am not cloth diapering, but I have a friend in Brooklyn who is doing it and she has to go to a laundromat to do laundry. They pre wash them in the sink at home then hit the laundromat once a week. So, it is possible even without having your own washer/dryer. It’s probably a little harder, but still possible.

Leave a Reply

