Last Look

I had an ultrasound today.  I wasn’t expecting to have another ultrasound, but my new doctor wanted to know the location of the placenta, which was not included in my medical records from the US (in fact, there was no information at all from my last u/s at 18 weeks 5 days).  But also to make sure all bases are covered.

And trust me, I didn’t object to another look at our baby girl.  (Hubby was also anxious for confirmation that she is, indeed, a girl and that we wouldn’t be surprised on the day of her arrival.)  I’ll never get tired of hearing that everything looks “very good” and even “excellent,” as it did today.  The tech showed us all her organs, perfectly intact, as well as her spine, arms, legs, hands, feet, and gorgeous face.  I wish I had a picture to show you guys.  She’s seriously the most beautiful baby I’ve ever seen (and I’m totally not biased at all).

He also measured her at just over 7 pounds (already!) and assured us that “if the dates are right,” she’s right on track.  I didn’t tell him that I know for a fact the dates are right because we know the date of her conception, practically to the minute.

Last week, Dr. K refused to check my cervix, saying she didn’t want to do anything until she knew that the placenta was not over my cervix.  At this week’s appointment, she had a different reason: based on the position of baby’s head, she didn’t even need to bother.  Which I’m kind of glad about because I would still love to have at least another two full weeks to prepare for adding a whole person to our family.

An idea that I still think about only in the abstract.  Yesterday, Hubby and I took a tour of the labor/deliver/maternity ward, as well as a breastfeeding class, which, for him, seemed to make things sink in a little more.  But for me?  I can’t quite imagine this little one living outside my womb.  Can’t wrap my head around the idea of not feeling her move inside me.  I keep telling myself she’s on her way, but I don’t really believe it.  And maybe I won’t until our apartment is a little more ready for her arrival.

Her bassinet, which we finally bought this weekend, is still in a box by the front door.  I have a pile of laundry I’m waiting to wash until I know every bit of baby stuff has been unpacked.  I’m still low on onesies and socks, which is going to require another shopping trip.  I don’t even have my hospital bag packed.

Which is probably what I should be doing now, instead of sitting in front of my computer, procrastinating.  She won’t wait forever.

7 thoughts on “Last Look

  1. Lol… I was in denial as I was being hooked up to the fetal monitor for induction. That’s pretty normal. My admission and subsequent induction came as a bit of a surprise, and I had to call hubby, frantically instructing him on what still needed to be packed. Trust me- it doesn’t feel real until afterwards. So glad you got another look… Now the wait begins!

  2. Yeah, this was me too. I didn’t even have a hospital bag packed despite 2 weeks of warnings to have one ready. And even now, there are still moments where I’m in denial.

    Glad all is well!

  3. Do you know, nearly six months later, I *still* sometimes can’t fathom that Skittle is here? Like truly, really, fully here, with pinchable cheeks and ticklish toes? Having this much bliss is pretty incredible after working so hard for it. So maybe it will continue to amaze you for a while.

    Excited for you! Can’t wait to hear the big news!

Leave a Reply

