The Third Month

Baby girl is three months old today (and exactly 13 weeks).  I can’t quite believe she’s been in our lives for a quarter of a year already.  And at the same time, it’s hard to remember what life was like before she arrived, like she’s always been a part of it.

The month started off on a sad note, with the departure of my family, but we soon got back into somewhat of a routine.

She is blossoming a little more every day.  Smiles and silent chuckles are readily available if you’re prepared to get silly.  She has favorite games and songs.  She holds her head mostly steady now and likes to be upright so she can look around.  At 10 weeks 2 days, she rolled from her tummy to back for the first time, although this was purely accidental.  She did it again at 12 weeks 3 days, and yesterday, she did it twice.  She almost rolled from back to tummy once but got stuck on her arm and then got mad.  She’s starting to reach out for toys and will grab onto them if you hold them close to her hand.

Breastfeeding is still a work in progress, but it’s getting better.  That deserves its own post.  Sleep continues to be all over the place.  She sleeps up to 8 hours at night (usually closer to 5 or 6), but daytime sleep is crap, and getting her to fall asleep in the evening is damn near impossible.  But she usually wakes up content and happy, which means I don’t have to run to her as soon as her eyes flutter open, and when I do go to her, I’m greeted with a smile.

I’ve made some progress this month, too.  I did my first load of laundry without Hubby’s help: down and up three flights of stairs three times with baby wrapped up on my chest.  We’ve been out and about, just the two of us, quite a bit as well, but my one and only attempt at joining a mommy group was a big fat fail.  I’ll keep trying, but making new friends at 36 in a brand new city isn’t easy.

Baby girl’s favorite things: Mommy and Aba, cooing conversations/telling stories, blowing spit bubbles, eating her hands (to the point of gagging herself, but she doesn’t seem to mind), observing everything and everyone (especially trees, the cats and ceiling fans), “reading” the warning label inside the bassinet, dancing, going for walks, the bookshelves in Hubby’s office, baths.

Not-so-favorite things: getting out of the bath, going to sleep (ugh!), being naked, getting dressed, having people poke around inside her mouth (which, thankfully, is over).

She is delightful and stubborn, comical and serious, strong, smart, and social.  Sometimes (even especially on the hard days) I can’t believe how lucky we are to have her in our lives.

4 thoughts on “The Third Month

  1. I can’t believe it’s been three months! It does fly, doesn’t it?

    I want to hear more about the mommy group fail, though…what happened?! We moved to a new city and state when I was pregnant with Cupcake and it was a LOT of work trying to build new relationships. Four years later, I finally have two dear friends who have helped to make this new city into our “home.” It’s not easy (and I imagine even much less so living in a new country), but you can do it!!!

  2. I think that smile first thing in the morning must be what makes everything worthwhile. That’s what my sis always said, anyway. So glad you are getting to experience it. Don’t be too down re: the mommy group. I’m introverted myself and know I would probably just stay at home and never socialize if I was alone in a new city. You get points just for getting out there and trying!

  3. My little on gags himself sometimes too- he’s even made himself spit up (on me of course lol) a couple times so now I try to distract him with a pacifier. I’m glad bf is getting better for you!

Leave a Reply

