Eight

Today marks eight years since Hubby and I got married. I almost let it pass by without acknowledgement in this space, but it didn’t seem right to me. I’ve written just about every anniversary you can imagine here, and I couldn’t let this one be forgotten.

Even though that’s how it’s felt all day. Hubby left for work this morning while baby girl and I were still in bed. There has been no exchange of gifts or even a single “happy anniversary,” between us.

I have no energy for celebration and no time to plan anything anyway. Hubby’s birthday is next month. I want to get him a special, personalized gift, but I haven’t even managed to order birth announcements yet. That’s how behind I am.

And anniversary sex? Yeah, that’s not happening, either.

This is the year we got everything we wanted. That should be enough. Right? So why doesn’t it feel like it?

 

5 thoughts on “Eight

  1. It’s one of those things you hear about but think won’t affect your own relationship. Every single thing about Hubby’s and my relationship has taken a back seat during this first year of parenting. We managed to buy each other Valentine’s Day cards, but never even exchanged them; his is still in my nightstand – blank. We joke about it because we’ve done the best we can and the girls have been the focus of everything. If it makes you feel any better, we have very slowly started to feel like more of a couple again over the last month, really since the girls turned one. We’re starting to get more of a handle on life. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. Happy anniversary, even if it’s not the most romantic of your marriage!
    P.S. I ordered birth announcements and never got around to sending them out! 😛

  2. Happy Anniversary. I’m sorry it’s not what you wanted it to be. I’m frequently disappointed by these kinds of milestones, but I’m learning to let go of my expectations and that helps. Of course we need to have some expectations. I suppose my next step is finding a good balance between being okay that it’s not what I would have originally wanted and still making sure it’s at least recognized in some small way. These things are hard.

Leave a Reply

