The Fourth Month

Baby girl is four months old.  Four months!  I can’t believe I’ve been someone’s mother for that long.

This is the month that breastfeeding finally went from painful to pleasurable.

This is the month baby girl laughed for the first time.  And squealed with delight.

This is the month she really discovered hands are for grabbing.  ALL the things.

It’s been a good month.

And a challenging month.

The “4-month” sleep regression is no joke.  At least, I hope that’s what this is, and not our new normal.  She had started to make progress, but now we’re back to 20-30 minute naps.  And fighting bedtime.  HARD.

Baby girl has also decided that she is not a roller.  Even after doing so well last month.  I’m not worried.  I think this is just her stubborn streak shining through.

Favorite things:  Mommy and Aba, hands and feet (which she’s been able to grab onto with a little bit of help/positioning), “petting” the cats, Blue Bear-y and Cube, grabbing clothes (hers, mine, Hubby’s) and trying to stuff them into her mouth, making monkey sounds with Aba.

Not-so-favorite things:  Still going to sleep.

She is growing and changing so much.  More and more, people say she looks like me (which, I have to admit, I LOVE!), but she is still very much her own person.  And I am falling more in love with that person every day.

6 thoughts on “The Fourth Month

  1. I am loving this age, but it is definitely more challenging. We are a week shy of the 4th month (I’ve been incorrectly aging my child by counting every Monday as a week older, so she’s not technically 4 months old until August 14). Sleep is up and down. Some nights good. Some nights bad. Naps, some as short as 15-minutes! And all those other beautiful, wonderful things. The squeals. The giggles. The fascination with hands and feet and putting everything in the mouth. Oh! And the refusal to roll over! She tries and tries, but all of a sudden it’s SO hard for her. I think the previous successes were flukes so now that she’s gaining more control of her movements she realizes how difficult it is to truly maneuver her body and limbs. It’s kind of funny to see her get so frustrated! I’m sure something similar is going on with your baby girl. Doesn’t it feel like the last 4-months have flown by, but taken forever at the same time? I have one word to sum up my experience with motherhood to this point: WOW. 🙂 I’m sure you share my sentiments. And I’m so very glad breastfeeding is going well more consistently now.

    • WOW pretty much sums it up! It’s amazing how time can go so fast and so slowly at the same time. I think part of baby girl’s struggles with rolling over these days has to do with her pushing up so high that rolling becomes a little intimidating. At least, that’s what I tell myself. 😉 I’m sure she’ll get the hang of it soon, and so will Daphne. I love that we get to experience these milestones together!

Leave a Reply

