13 Things #MicroblogMondays

Hubby, baby girl, and I are leaving for a two-week visit to Hubby’s home country in 13 days.  Here’s what’s been on my mind:

  • Traveling all day–including a 10-hour flight–with an 8-month-old.  Yikes.
  • We aren’t friendly enough with anyone here to ask them to check in on the cats while we’re gone, so we have to hire someone to do it.  Someone who hopefully won’t steal/break/destroy any of our stuff or torture/kill the cats.
  • Packing?  I don’t even know where to begin.  Also, I need a new bag that can accommodate and keep organized my wallet, keys, phone, as well as baby girl’s essentials and both our passports.
  • Every time Hubby talks to his dad via Skype, he tells me how tired he is.  The latest is that he barely leaves the house because his legs and feet are so swollen he can’t walk far.  I just keep hoping he’s doing well enough when we get there that he can enjoy playing with his only granddaughter.
  • I guess the silver lining of not having a well-established sleep routine for baby girl is that it can’t get too messed up while we’re away.
  • I experimented with cheese this weekend.  I wanted to test baby girl to see if she still has a negative reaction to dairy (through breastfeeding), but the results were inconclusive.  I would like for both of us to be able to eat whatever we want while on vacation, so I guess I’ll just keep testing.  Bring on the cheese!
  • Baby girl is becoming more mobile, and the apartment is far from baby-proofed.  I should probably get on that.
  • We spent a few minutes with my family via Skype for Thanksgiving, but otherwise did not celebrate it at all.  Hubby had to work, and baby girl and I went to our mama-baby class, just like any other Thursday.
  • Christmas will be spent with Hubby’s family (which doesn’t celebrate it) and even further away from mine.  So much for baby girl’s “firsts.”
  • I need a haircut.
  • We’re going to miss two weeks of Canadian winter while we’re gone, but I’m afraid that’s just going to make it that much harder to come back.
  • Baby girl’s face keeps breaking out, which makes me wonder what’s going on with my hormones and whether my cycle’s return might be imminent.  Just in time for traveling.
  • You mamas that have done this before, any baby travel tips for making this whole ordeal go as smoothly as possible?

 

 Want to participate?  Check out Mel’s post to find out how.

5 thoughts on “13 Things #MicroblogMondays

  1. I’m sure your father-in-law will be reinvigorated by meeting his granddaughter and will have lots of energy for her. I hope you have a fantastic trip!

  2. So many of these points are familiar! I wish I had tips to help with traveling and after, but we’re still in the throws of decompressing from our trip. It’s 6am and I’ve been up since 3:30…I got a couple of hours of sleep at least this night, but it isn’t much better than previous nights. LOL

    As for travel bag, I have a “purse/bag” that I’ve been using 20 years. It has several pockets (two main, a small front, and two small back) and I just keep them organized with the stuff I absolutely need for traveling and then all else goes into a backpack.

    For takeoff and esp landing, give baby girl a pacifier, boob/milk or something to suck on. It helps with the cabin pressure change.

    Good luck. Try not to stress. Easier said than done. Haha!

  3. Sending good thoughts for safe travels. No fantastic advice except keep a low-bar. I always had stuff that I pulled out for travel — special toys or treats that they only got while we were away from home. I also found that doing less = more. Everything is so different that trying to throw more bells and whistles and distractions usually only amounted to them becoming over-stimmed.

  4. I took a long flight with Cupcake when she was nine months old and it was hard work (but not a nightmare), so I feel for you. I agree with the advice to make sure baby girl is drinking/sucking on the way up and down in the plane. Also, if it’s possible to change seats, I would try to get seats as far in the back as you can go. It’s usually quieter back there, near a bathroom, and if baby cries there are less people to hear it. Be as organized as you possibly can be and make sure the items that you know you will need are easily accessible so you don’t have to dig through a bag to find them when there is such limited space to move around in. Wishing you lots of luck!

Leave a Reply

