Updates, etc.

  • Thanks, everyone, for your kind comments on my last post.  The results came back, and Cat has hyperthyroidism, which is apparently very common in kitties her age.  There are two treatment options: a one-time injection of radioactive iodine, which costs $1200-$1300 or a $50/month prescription of pills to be given twice a day every day for the rest of her life, along with routine blood tests (the blood work for our visit on Sunday cost $120).  We’re still in the process of trying to figure out the best option for our budget (neither) and Cat’s long-term health.
  • Baby girl turned 8 months old yesterday.  One of these days, I might get around to writing her monthly post.
  • We leave for our trip in four days.  FOUR DAYS.  I am nowhere near ready.
  • It’s snowing.  Has been since yesterday, and isn’t supposed to stop anytime soon.  Which makes running last-minute errands even more challenging.
  • While doing some cleaning/organizing today, I found the baby blanket I started to knit while I was pregnant with baby girl.  I worked on it in the car on the way to Canada.  Then I ran out of yarn, and the store where I bought it doesn’t exist here.  So it will likely never be finished.  What do I do with half a baby blanket?
11 thoughts on “Updates, etc.

  1. If you know what type of yarn it is, you can almost definitely find it on the internet. Certainly you can find someone with it on ravelry.com.

  2. How did I miss the last post about your cat!? Argh! Poor thing, I hope you can get her sorted out. Sucks that vet bills are so sickeningly expensive. My husband’s parent’s cat had hypthyroidism (as does he and his father! Weird right!?), the meds fixed the cat right up, but you’re right they weren’t cheap.

    • Maybe if we hadn’t spent all our money (and then some) on IVF and moving to Canada we could afford it. And I feel like we’ve asked too much of both our families already. It just sucks.

      • Those are some seriously big expenses!!! I avoid the vet like the plague, but know that both of my fur babies are drastically in need of a visit (bad teeth). Thinking of you guys.

  3. I have a lot of half-finished projects like that.

    Safe travels! No advice on what to do about kitty. It sounds stressful either way — managing a daily pill or a huge bill all at once.

  4. Poor cat! At least it’s not something more serious. I can never get over the expense of vet stuff. Hopefully you guys can figure something out that works.

  5. Well, at least you have a diagnosis. Though vet bills are unreasonably expensive. I think Belle dealt with this with one of her cats, opting to do the radiation. It works, but the up-front cost isn’t fun.

    Good luck with preparing for your trip. Congrats on 8 months! And you’re making me miss snow (send it my way, please?).

  6. My cat has the same thing. She’s 14 so we’re treating it with meds. She vomited the pills so they have us use a lotion that I rub on her inner ear twice a day. Super easy. Although you have to wear gloves. Can’t touch the lotion (like I want my thyroid any slower! Lol.) And once her levels went back to normal, I only have to get her blood checked once a year. Just something to think about.

Leave a Reply

