Homesick

There’s a certain TV show Hubby and I have been watching lately. It’s a spinoff of another very popular show about everyone’s favorite chemistry-teacher-turned-meth-cook-extraordinaire. Both shows were filmed in my chosen hometown (though they make it appear seedier than it actually is), the city where Hubby and I met, fell in love, got married, and eventually conceived baby girl (with a lot of help from our beloved Dr. C). The city we left a little over a year ago. The city I’ve been missing, especially in winter.

Last week, my hometown got a pretty significant snowfall. I know because there were pictures of snow angels and children posed next to their snowmen plastered all over Facebook. It was kind of a big deal. And the next day, it was gone. Because that’s what happens in the southwest. But I bet the mountains were beautiful that day, a delicious, sugar-covered confection on the eastern horizon.

I’ve written before about feeling unsettled here, as well as my renewed efforts to embrace our current home. So yesterday, the three of us trudged through the slush of the most recent snow to the metro, and then a few more blocks with fresh flurries blowing in our faces, to the art museum. There was nothing special about the weather (except that the temperature may have crept above freezing for a few hours). It was just another winter day in Montreal.

Baby girl was excited about the museum, though, and chatted about each exhibit, offering her opinions on everything from a wall of stuffed animals to plaster nudes to canvases of stripes and squares and swirls of color. It was nice to go as a family (now that Hubby is officially unemployed again and has his days free for such things). Still, I miss the mountains and my friends. Sincerity and I have been trying–unsuccessfully–to Skype since November. I see updates on Facebook. My work friend, J, finally bought a house, but I’ll probably never see it.  And they might never get to meet baby girl in person.

Hubby’s been applying for jobs all over the country (both countries, actually), and when something came up in our hometown, even though it wasn’t the best fit, I encouraged him to apply. It’s a long shot, but I’d like to go back home.

5 thoughts on “Homesick

  1. For some reason I thought you were from the East Coast. I don’t know why. I was in Santa Fe one year during a huge snow storm and it was so beautiful. It was right before christmas and it looked so lovely with all the lights.
    I hope you are able to return home and if not, you can find a new place that will feel like home.

  2. I’ve visited both your old hometown and the one you’re in now, and I know which one I’d rather be in during winter. I think it’d be very hard not to be homesick with all you guys have going on. I hope you get lucky and manage to find your way back there.

  3. I glamorize winter. Oh isn’t the snow so pretty! But after 2 weeks of it i’d be done with the dramatic cold that freezes the northern us and canada and begging to come back to Cali. Sending you guys positive energy as hunby’s job search commences!

  4. It’s been beautiful in Abq. I would miss it if I were to ever move. Of course, my sister who just moved here from Florida did not like the snow storm. Even though almost all of it was gone at the end of the day.

  5. Pingback: As her first birthday approaches… | Something Out of Nothing

Leave a Reply

