Day 21 #MicroblogMondays

Technically, this should be day 22 of my 30 Days of Yoga challenge, but I had to skip a day (8 or 9?) when baby girl refused to sleep anywhere other than my boob.  As far as my expectations going in, I’d say missing one day in the last three weeks is pretty good.

There have been days I’ve looked forward to it all day and days I’ve really had to talk myself into it, but I’m doing it.  In spite of sciatica, stomach aches, and plain ol’ don’t-feel-like-it.  Some poses and movements are easier than they were in the beginning, but I’m still discovering new aches and pains after each practice, which, I think, means I’m getting a decent workout every time.  (That’s not hard considering how out-of-shape I started.)  I’m more aware of my body, not just during each practice, but throughout the day, and I’m becoming more aware of my breath as well.

Adriene is a hoot.  She’s young and fun and go-with-the-flow.  She models different levels of difficulty for many poses and encourages you to find what feels “yummy.”  After the challenge, I definitely want to check out her other videos, of which there are many.

Tonight’s video is “Joyful Home Practice.”  And that’s exactly what I intend it to be.

 

 Want to participate?  Check out Mel’s post to find out how.

9 thoughts on “Day 21 #MicroblogMondays

  1. The hardest part of yoga really is just showing up on your mat. Glad to hear your challenge is going so well, yoga has been a huge lifesaver for me on my fertility journey.

  2. I love my yoga app, but I would totally try this. Does she do it every month? Can you sign up and get started on the first the next month? Or did I miss it?

    Every morning I wake up and think about how I don’t want to do yoga. Then I go downstairs and do it and feel relieved that I got through it. But I never wake up and think, “oooh, time for yoga!”

Leave a Reply

