Happy Birthday!

Dear baby girl,

You turn one today. I can’t quite wrap my head around that. One whole year you’ve brought love and laughter and joy into our home. It feels as though it’s passed in the blink of an eye, and at the same time, it feels like you’ve always been a part of us.

It’s not that I don’t remember what life was like before you came along. I remember all too well how lonely and sad and hopeless I felt when we were waiting (and waiting and waiting) to begin the fertility treatments that would eventually lead to you. And when our first attempt failed, I was devastated.

But as crushed as I was, I know that if that cycle had worked, we wouldn’t have you. And I can’t imagine a life without you in it. You are so special–because of who you are, my sweet, funny, sensitive girl–and because of what you’ve made me: your mommy.

It’s been a wild year, but we wouldn’t trade it–or you–for anything. You make every day an adventure, filled with wonder and surprises. Today is your birthday, but you are the gift Aba and I get to open every day. We love you more than words in either of our languages can express.

Love,
Mommy

 

14 thoughts on “Happy Birthday!

  1. Happy birthday baby girl! And happy birth day mom! I felt like my daughter’s first birthday belonged more to me than to her. Each subsequent birthday has been more about her as she understands what the day is about and that she gets special things. But that first birthday, it felt like it was my day.

    I hope this day feels like yours.

    • Thank you! Yes, it does feel like something of an accomplishment to have the three of us survive the year, and to see her thriving, I am just over the moon! So I suppose yesterday was really a celebration of all that, which is, of course, way over her head!

Leave a Reply

