Kisses

“Give Aba kisses.”  Baby girl leans in, mouth open, and licks Hubby’s cheek. “Aw, kisses.”

He lifts her away from him and pulls her close again, kissing her cheeks, her nose, her hair. “Neshikot, neshikot,” he says. Then, to me, “Do you think it’s possible to kiss her too much?”

***

“Kisses! Kisses! Smooch and SMACK! You’ll have your love and kisses back!”  These are the last lines of one of our favorite books, Love and Kisses, by Sarah Wilson.  It’s a chain of kisses that circles back around to a girl and her cat, who looks a lot like our Cat. I’ve had the book for years, since I was teaching, but until about 12 months ago, it was sitting in a box, among many others, just waiting. I get such joy out of being able to read it to my daughter now.

***

Another boxed-up item, until very recently, was a baby doll, along with a tiny wooden bed and doll-sized blanket. A few weeks ago, I pulled her out, showing baby girl how to dress her, rock her, and put her to bed. I kissed the doll’s head, then handed her to baby girl. She bent over the doll, putting her mouth to the plastic hair.

Cue. Heart. Melting.

 

 Want to participate?  Check out Mel’s post to find out how.

8 thoughts on “Kisses

  1. Girl Wonder is also just learning how to kiss, mouth open wide and both hands firmly gripping a cheek when she leans in to profer a slobbery greeting. It’s so awesome.

    And isn’t it amazing to share some of those items that have been lying in hope/storage?! It still blows my mind that I get to do that.

    • Yes! I felt like such a dummy for keeping certain things for so long, telling myself my child would use them someday. Finally “someday” is here!

    • It’s definitely sweet. And with the doll, I kept seeing her with a baby brother or sister (hopefully! one day!), and it just made me swoon.

  2. Love the kisses! Paxlet wasn’t big on kisses until he learned how to do flying kisses. Now him and dad blow “plane/cat/hedgehog/etc colored kisses” to each other. It’s quite funny (and illogical).

    I too had many things tucked away for the someday-child. It is so rewarding to finally be able to read the books and share the toys.

    Thanks for the comment. I’m sorry about the loss of your mom also. Keeping you in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

