Happenings (and not-happenings) #MicroblogMondays

After a 2-week hiatus, bullet points seem about right:

  • My last post should have been called “When it seems to be working…”, which leaves room for the current uncertainty we find ourselves in. Hubby never heard back about the Nebraska job, so no on-campus interview there. He’s since had phone or Skype interviews for two jobs in the States and one in Australia, and has one this Friday morning for a job in Wales. It’s quite possible none of these could lead to an offer, but we’re hopeful that’s how this round of interviews will end.
  • In that light, we’re treating this summer as our last hurrah in Montreal. We’ve spent the last few weeks visiting and hiking in Mount Royal Park, as well as the Olympic Park, where we’ll have upcoming outings to the botanical garden, Biodome, and planetarium. Tomorrow night we’re going to the U.S.-Germany semi-final of the women’s World Cup. Late summer or early fall seems like the perfect time to leave this city, while the weather’s nice, and we haven’t been beaten down by the brutality of winter.
  • In the two weeks since I last wrote, I’ve also gotten woefully behind on blog reading and commenting. I’m getting caught up, but I know my reader is going to be full again today. Bear with me. I’m trying.
  • Missy is taking all of this in stride. She loves having her Aba home all day and getting out of the house for all of our field trips. I’m a bit worried about how she’ll handle the soccer game tomorrow night, since it doesn’t start until 6:30, which is her normal bedtime. Not that it matters much if her sleep schedule gets thrown off. She’s waking up every hour and a half or so from 10:30 to 6 a.m. anyway. The real tricky part is going to be getting her out of the house by 7 a.m. Friday morning for Hubby’s interview. Wish us allll luck!
  • Just curious, who would be interested in a post about speech and language development (I ask, knowing it could be weeks before I get around to posting anything even semi-coherent)?

 

 

 Want to participate?  Check out Mel’s post to find out how.

13 thoughts on “Happenings (and not-happenings) #MicroblogMondays

  1. I have been thinking about you! Even decided that if we didn’t get an update this week, I was going to hound you for you! Glad you didn’t make me do that. 🙂

    1. Outings. We love them! I wish we were there to explore Montreal with you. The LA suburbs are hot and boring.

    2. Sounds like I’m not the only one still in the “not getting much sleep boat.” I’ve just sort of accepted it, for now, and it sounds like you have too.

    3. Australia. I vote for Australia.

    4. I would absolutely positively LOVE MANY posts about language development. A friend of mine just started a site about that called Chirpy Chatterbox. You may want to consider guest posting over there, though I’m not sure how far your blogging ambitions extend. Either way, I would love love love and tips you have. D’s language development is progressing to lots of chatter, but most of which I can’t make sense of. I have no idea if we’re doing the right or wrong thing to encourage her.

    • Thanks, Steph! I have mixed feelings about Australia, just because it’s SO FAR. But at this point, I’m up for any place that makes an offer! As for sleep, I’ve just accepted that it’s going to suck for a while, and things aren’t going to get any better until we get settled in whatever location we end up (if then). I’m so glad you’re interested in the language post(s). I’ll have to think about how many I want to do and how to organize them, but given my background and my own little chatterbox, I thought it might be worth doing.

      • Yes, please do it! Australia is super far, so I understand that that’s a draw back, but if he does get a job there I will expect lots of kangaroo pictures! 🙂

  2. Even though we’re past that stage, I’d read a post about language development.

    I hope these current leads lead straight to a firm offer. Wales! You could be near the Doctor Who Experience. 🙂

  3. Oh good luck on the job search! That uncertainty is awful. I’m always interested in language development. Such an interesting process. I hope the outings go well — the biodome sounds great!

    • Thanks, Jess! I had intended to write more about our experiences here in Montreal, but I never seem to get around to it…not that there’s been much to write about until recently. Before that, it was cold and snow and more cold and more snow! Maybe I’ll do more writing about our adventures this summer….

  4. Awww f..udge! I missed yet another MicroblogMonday. I have no idea what day it is anymore.

    Wishing all the luck and best for a job for your hubby! And I’d love to her what you have to say about speech and language. I have loved listening and watching my boy learn to talk and understand it all. It is so interesting!

  5. Sucks about Nebraska, but sounds like there are a lot of irons in the fire so hopefully something even better ends up working out for you. I’d love posts on language development, I’m sure I’d bookmark them for later!

    • Yeah, I was bummed about Nebraska, too. At this point, I don’t even have a preference for where we end up, as long as someone sees my husband’s worth and potential and makes him an offer!

  6. Pingback: Bingo! #MicroblogMondays | Something Out of Nothing

Leave a Reply

