Happy Birthday, Saba! #MicroblogMondays

(Thanks, Mel, for this brilliant idea.  I have been wanting to blog more but can never seem to find the time!)

Today is Hubby’s dad’s 82nd birthday.  He has yet to meet his only granddaughter in person, but Hubby and baby girl conveyed their birthday wishes via Skype earlier today.  I hope we’ll be able to do the same with my dad for his birthday at the end of the month (although this requires more coordination, as he is not so computer savvy).  The older they get, the more I worry about how little time with them we have left, especially now with baby girl.  And yet, we’re spread across three countries on two different continents, so it’s not like we can just pop over to visit the grandparents whenever we feel like it.  We’re lucky to manage major holidays.  Life would be so much easier if someone would just hurry up and invent a teleportation machine.

4 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Saba! #MicroblogMondays

  1. Seconding a desire for a teleportation machine. Would make life so much easier. I’m sure elderly people would roll their eyes at this thinking how lucky we are that we have cheap airplane flights. That said, we also call our grandfather saba 🙂

  2. I think about stuff like this too, being so far away from my parents. Although I’m hoping that a baby will encourage them to come and visit ME more often, seeing as how M and I are usually the ones doing the travelling.

  3. I’ve been wanting a “beam me up, Scotty” machine for years and years. It is only more so needed now that we have Paxlet. It is truly difficult at times to not see family face to face. But! Thankfully we do have Skype.

  4. I also live far from my family & second the request for a teleporter. 😉 That said, Skype has been a blessing. My parents actually learned to use it before I did!

Leave a comment